Invest In Yourself First, Then You Can Invest In Others

in #palnet5 years ago

Untitled design (34).jpeg

It never occurred to me that investing in yourself should be your number on priority. I was always told to help others before helping myself and while yes this is a good thing as I got older my views on this have shifted and for the better. Let me explain why.

I strongly believe that money is not evil. Money instead emphasizes the person you truly are. If you are good money enables you to make a larger impact and do more good in the world. If you are bad, well money allows you to do more bad in the world.

I like to consider myself a good person, one that looks out for others and when I see someone making a real effort I am more then happy to give that person a little boost in some way shape or form.

So what exactly do I mean by investing in yourself first ?

Investments in yourself such as daily reading, learning, investing, creating etc are all building blocks to get you to your own goals. All of these provide good value and by being a person of value it increases your wealth. Your wealth then can be used how you see fit to do good or bad with.

What are some things you can do to invest in yourself ?

  • Reading books both pleasure and educational
  • Creating courses from the information you learned
  • Writing blog posts to help others
  • UPVOTING and curation good quality content (builds followers, and networking)
  • Network with like minded people who have visions and goals as you do
  • Become debt FREE. If you carry ANY debt or loans focus on paying them fully off asap
  • Invest in something you believe will give you a positive return on your money
  • Relax, recharge and refocus when you need it
  • Create income streams If your job is your own form of income right now you need to expand!
  • Side hustles - use the extra profits to build the above

Some important things to remember...

It might not feel like you have time to do these things but in fact you do. You just need to change priorities.

Watching Netflix for a hour each night? Read a book instead for a hour

Have a long drive to work and back home ? Get an audio book or course

Get a morning coffee each day ? STOP make your own if you can't live without it or cut it fully out of your morning. Use that money for investments.

There are literally so many small things you can change in your days that enable you to invest in yourself. Small changes add up over time and you wont see instant results. Do it for a week and recap on how that went, then a month and then a year. I think you will be blown away and get addicted to investing in yourself after you see all you have accomplished after a year.

Sort:  

You know which line of your list I like most ?

Become debt FREE !

All my life has went that way.
Being born and grown in past ussr ( I was 36 when that evil empire broke away) , where loans and credits were very very rear, almost unknown, I kept that habit (of not taking credits) - for the rest of my life.
Cars, house, real estate, TV's etc etc - everything I have ever purchased, was always paid upfront at full, usually in cash. No credits, no loans, no lease.
Never. Ever.

I know that for so many people, these days, this is very hard to imagine.
Never the less, I keep lining that way. And no sweat...

Debt will literally kill u not only financialy but also all the stress that comes from it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Become debt FREE. If you carry ANY debt or loans focus on paying them fully off asap

One of the best advice that many ignore.

Hello again. I am playing Nextcolony and my planet is one space away from yours. I am not looking to drive anyone away from the game if they are having fun, but I'm not sure if you are really into the game or not. Can you please let me know if it would ruin your day if I steal your resource? ;)

I do play the game thank you for being so kind and asking. I just finally got to start exploring yesterday.

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem. The more people playing the merrier! I am going to send you a corvette ASAP. I know it does not sound like much but having one ship stationed on your planet will protect it from an attack by transporters only. Lots of attacks are like that right now (only transporters) so it could help for a while. Have fun and happy hunting!

Valuable wisdom as human capital is our most valuable asset and like many crypto, we can fully control as we deploy as we like accepting the consequences along the way!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Investing in yourself is the best thing that you can do. And that enables you to support others. You will be in a position to contribute more to make a change in a positive direction.

It is good but they have limit, you need to expand on other area as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree 100%. But with Stranger Things 3 out right now, I will be watching Netflix for more than one hour each night for a while. I do need to start listening to more audio books while I drive since I am usually doing a lot of driving and don't have much time for actually reading books.

Lol true I've been watching stranger things 3 as well

Posted using Partiko Android

This season is so much better than the last one. I think we have 3 episodes left and then we will be losers again waiting a year until the next season comes out.

Hi, @bitcoinflood!

You just got a 14.97% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @bitcoinflood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!