Sort:  

hi @coachilze

As of Monday I will be starting the keto diet.
From the information that I have been reading there are pro's and cons to the diet. I have been looking more at keto than other diets as my mum has followed it now for 5 months and lost 2.5 stone.

I have struggled with my weight for 17 years and so has my mum, we have tried loads of diets and this one seems to fit our life styles.

As I understand it for long term keto diet is not a good idea but for 90 days to get your body on the right track is the easiest way.

After talking to a friend who is a scientist, she explained to me that carbs turn to sugar which our body burns instead of the fat around our bodies.
If we eat sugar or carbs our body doesn't burn fat as quick as it should as we don't release the chemical in our body to burn the fat.

With us eating the fat that is needed to burn the fat around our body our body naturally produces the enzymes needed to burn the fat.

It is really interesting for me to learn this way of life.

I will be blogging about my time on keto and I am interested in seeing where I end up in 90 days time.

keep steeming :D

Hi there
Thank you for your comment.
Yes that is essentially what happens. The simplified explanation is while you are burning sugar, you are not burning fat. I am not a fan of long term Keto because it puts strain on the adrenals. I have seen this over and over with my clients and myself. We do what they call Banting. Banting and Keto are the same foods, it is just the ratio that changes. So we Keto for only 7 days then Bant for the rest of the month.
It is a lot more sustainable and the weight just falls off without putting strain on the body.

I look forward to seeing your progress.

Thanks for replying, lost 11 pounds in 5 days with keto, I haven't heard of banting before, I must have a read about it, sounds interesting. I am fasting for 12 to 15 hours a day too, I need to loose the fat as last year the doctor wanted to fit me a gastric band. And I don't want that. :S

Stay on the whole food's path and you will do well. The secret here is to not give up, push hard and you will see a major change. If you start feeling tired at any point, seek out help and find good adrenal support without rubbish in it. My holistic doctor gave me a herbal one that did wonders.