In 2 years, the price of my security cameras increased by almost 300%!!! So I bought some second hand ones but..

in #palnetlast year (edited)

Have a look at the price of this security camera on Kogan.com:

image.png

Now, have a look at how much I bought it for:

image.png

So, what happened?

$769 / $199 = 3.86

The new price, 2 years and 5 months later, is almost 4 times the original price!!!

What happened?

Basically, since this is a discontinued product, there are not as many around on the market anymore. But, because it is a really good product (if you are lucky enough to not get a defective one), people are now paying almost 4x the price to buy what is left on the market.

The kit (DCS-2802KT) came with 2 cameras (DCS-2800LH) and a Hub (DCS-H100), as you can see in the photo. One Hub can connect to a maximum of 4 cameras, but the kit only comes with 2 cameras. Unfortunately one of my cameras broke, so I only have 1 functioning camera. I had to find a replacement. I didn't want to buy a brand new kit for almost 4 times the price, so I found a seller selling second hand cameras on eBay.

Now, here's the funny story. I bought 3 second hand DCS-2800LH cameras from eBay, hoping that they would pair with my Hub and work with my current system. 1 of them worked instantly and paired to my Hub. However, 2 of them will not pair to my Hub at all. After talking to the ebay seller about them not working, I thought I would make a video to show them that I have done everything they've said, but the camera just won't pair. The purpose of the video was to help me get a refund.

Guess what? At the same time as I was filming the pairing process failing, it suddenly decided to work.

So I wrote to the seller: "hey, just letting you know it started working, thank you, I will give you a 5 star review". Gave them a 5 star review, and put this video up on Youtube to help others that can't pair the camera. The secret lies in holding down the SYNC button for 60 seconds for a factory reset - this info is NO WHERE ON THE INTERNET!!

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

哎呀。这个应该提早囤货当投资🤣

就是啊!誰知道會變這樣

That is some nice profit you can make by selling the old ones

lol the second hand ones aren't selling for that high, just the new ones

Good introduction👍👍

Thank you!!

This can be a good buy and sell business..isn't it? It must be a good quality that it increased 300% in just a couple of years..

!PIZZA

Yes correct! It's probably the best one I've used!

这价格涨幅是认真的么(//∇//)

對!這是真的網站,我很多東西都在這買

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jane1289(4/5) tipped @magicmonk

good introduction👍👍

Thank you!!

🤣感觉自己赚大发了,涨了这么多。

哈哈 對啊 早知道不買hive, 買security camera

Some products can be very expensive because they are no longer produced. Fortunately, you made a good profit by buying used, man. After all, the important thing is that it works and it works. Most of the time products work when you turn them off and on or reset them haha.

Haha yeah you're right. In fact listening to what you said, I went back to my broken camera and reset it. Seems to be working now!! Thank you

You're not serious, are you? 😄😄

一般來說我買完就不會回頭去看價格,就怕自己買虧…氮素!如果發現我買的東西後來漲價了,就會有種「買到就是賺到」的感覺!

哈哈哈哈,我家也有安裝這個,拿來看家裡貓咪在做什麼的

喔,對啊,我也沒想看價格,就是因為壞掉了一個攝像頭,要買來補上

然後驚了是不是,哈哈哈哈,買的早就是賺到了

Congratulations @magicmonk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 74000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 76000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP