Teacher Series Parent Edition: What’s That On The Floor?

in #parenting6 years ago

teacherseries[1].jpg

Ok. So, if you don’t know already, potty training can suck the life out of you. It is so time consuming and typically takes a lot of work. Having to go to the bathroom yourself and make sure another person goes is quite a lot of bathroom trips throughout the day. The one thing I can say is consistency is definitely the key.

Kids that have autism most likely will need a little more time in this area. It may take them longer if they can even grasp the concept. It was a struggle in my household getting my son potty trained. Oh, the memories and the exhaustion. Remember earlier I said that it takes consistency? Well, I was not consistent at all, so I know that has a lot to do with the struggle. At one point my son would potty when placed on the toilet but then I became so focused on him improving his speech the potty training fell by the way side. I would still take him to the bathroom but not on a regular schedule. Then one day it hit me. Oh, my goodness, my son will be starting kindergarten soon and he has to be potty trained in order to be place in a mainstream classroom. So, I went to work. I created a social story about potty training and used a sticker chart. With a ton of hard work, dedication and just plain old prayer, we got through it.

Parents, I know it can be tough to potty train but we all know the sooner the child is trained the better it is for the family. No more paying for those expensive diapers or washing and drying cloth diapers.

Just remember to always keep an extra change of clothing everywhere you go just in case.

Something potty training can be a breeze but not always. Just stick with it and breathe through.

Sort:  

Congratulations @annparenting! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @annparenting! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!