Outdoor Sensory Play

in #parenting4 years ago (edited)

It's been beautiful up here lately. The clear blue skies and warm weather has been a welcomed change. Not that it's been a particularly bad Winter, far from it, I'm just looking forward to being outdoors with Bella.

She wasnt even a week old when we had our first bushfires scare last year and Summer was a complete write off with it being too hot or too smoky.

Right now, especially now that she's on the verge of walking, is the perfect time for her to be outside and exploring.

Enjoying the morning sun.

Sensory Play

We realised a few months ago that she doesn't mind grass too much. I say "too much" because she's got her moments with it. Playing with blades of grass is fine, but when it comes to her feet on grass it depends on her mood.

After a successful morning outside, after her afternoon nap, I decided to take her back outside to play with water.

She LOVES water.

We all get a drenching during bath times because she'll kick and splash for as long and we'd let her.

Now that it's warmer it's the perfect time to let her play with it as much as she wants.

Keeping safety in mind and it being a trial run to see how she'd react and what she'll do I decided to fill a shallow container with water and throw some toys in for variety.

First thing to come out was the unicorn sponge... then after dipping her hands in she tipped the container over. 😂😂

It didn't really work out the way I envisioned but she had fun and was quite happy to sit on the picnic blanket for a while.

It was interesting to note that she didn't try to venture off the blanket. She would flip the edge and feel the back of it but she didn't crawl off.

It's another gorgeous day up here so we'll be spending some of it outside again despite my hayfever kicking into high gear.

I think we could all use some time in nature with our bare feet on the ground for much needed grounding.

Have a great weekend everyone!

❤🧸1️⃣

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 5%

Winter is almost done and I don't think I've ever looked forward to Spring as much as this year. It should be a really nice time for you guys. She's at that nice age where you can chill out with a blanket on the grass in the sun (just like your photos) and she can't get too far :)

Same. After the year we've had Spring just seems so promising. 🤞🤞🤞 It wont pan out the same way the years gone though.

I’m looking into doing that too! I tried out the see through sandwich bag way first - with the water contained - but that didn’t really contain it that much haha.

Oooo I've seen toys with water in them! I think it was marketed as a tummy time toy? Bella's pretty rough so I dont really trust her with something like that inside the house. FOR SURE the water will go everywhere.

Haha there’s some playmats with water in them at Kmart (sold out!) or from Amazon apparently!

Things rarely work out as envisioned with kids. Don’t have visions 🤣

I love that unicorn sponge!

Lol I'm fast realising this! I'll let Hubby know you gave the sponge a thumbs up. It's one of his impulse purchases... Sent him to buy nappies, came home with a sponge... 😂

She looks like she's meditating in that second shot. 😍

The area is good for the development of healthy health.