Foxboy Rides!

in #parenting4 years ago

Foxboy (7yo) is now a bike riding fool!

A week ago, he cried, shouted mean things, threw his helmet on the ground, and took a swing at me while he was sitting on his bike


image.png
Image stolen from amazon listing

Backing up to two weeks ago: Foxboy decided he was ready to ride a bike. He was insistent that launching from the driveway toward the yard was the best way to learn. He went that route against my advice and crashed real nice. Some of the neighborhood children were around to witness this spectacular event, so he sustained injury to both body and pride

Fair enough. These things happen. No serious injury, but he was really reluctant to try again

For the week following, we spoke of the value in facing one's fears, the value of riding a bike, the understanding that we sometimes receive injury as part of living, and risk management strategies

A week ago, after a week of only talking about these things, he was ready to try again... until he wasn't. Just looking at his bike produced a round of tears. What's a papa to do? As much as it hurts my heart to see him react this way to his bike, I know I'd regret it so much more if I don't teach him to deal with his fear

Reluctantly, I played a card that usually doesn't come out - I told him he needed to do it, and I would help him. The plan was simply to get him through the fear. Sit on the seat until the panic subsides

We walked out together and I could see the resolve waiver in his eyes. There was a large part of me that didn't want him to endure it. As many parents understand, pain in his heart is pain in mine. The surge of emotion was palpable, and tears nearly welled in my eyes (of course he didn't see or know that, haha). Together, we went over the plan again:

1.  Sit on the bike

That was literally the entire plan

Shakily, he started getting on the bike. It was like slow motion. He was so scared he was shivering, and he started bawling as soon as his cheeks met the seat

All I wanted to do in the world was hug him and hold him tight, so I did

He kept crying then started wailing "I DON'T WANT TOOOOoooo" between sobs

He took off his helmet, through it on the ground, and released a primal scream into the evening

He took a swing at me

He told me he hated this

and I just kept hugging him and holding him

One of the neighbors going by stopped to make sure everything was alright. After a few sucking sobs, he was calm enough to say that he was ok.... and that changed something inside him

The crying ceased as he reached out and white-knuckled the handle bar grips. Quietly, but with firm resolve, he said "OK. I'm ready"

Now, to remind you of the plan, I'll repeat it here

Sit on the bike

Still hugging him, and unsure of what he meant, I asked him what he was ready for

His eyes glazed over for what felt like an eternity. It was probably more like ten seconds

Oh yeah. I thought you were going to throw me forward as hard as you could and I would crash into a mailbox. I forgot I was just trying to see if I could sit here
-foxboy

Fear drives a brain to strange places I guess? Not only was that nowhere near the plan, I haven't been strong enough to throw him in years

Bewilderment quickly melted to pride as he reached out and hugged me back, saying "thank you" ever so quietly as he buried his face in my chest. OMG I felt so special

"Well, now what do I do Papa?"

"Have fun, buddy. Walk it around a little. See how it feels"

That was the day he started pushing himself around on his bike. No pedaling, he wasn't comfortable picking his feet up, but that's all fine by me. When he went to bed, I removed the pedals from his bicycle. A few more days scooting and he was really going some pretty long distances with his feet up. By the following weekend, he was pedaling himself around the block! He was having a lot of fun with it


image.png
From the ActiveForLive website

On his way by, the neighbor kid asked if they could ride his bike. This kid was riding around a lot on their own bike recently. Turns out, it was broken. To which my son immediately replies "My dad can fix it. He can fix anything"

haha! I love that he has that perception of me. In fairness, between his uncle and myself, we can fix anything :P

Two wheels was life for me as both a child and adult. Anything with two wheels: motorcycles, bicycles, scooters, mopeds, dirt bikes, sport bikes
That was my jam

So, yes, I wound up repairing a few bicycles. It was hard, it took forever compared to what I used to do, I had to get some help, I spent a week in pain with very little grip strength... and it was awesome! Completely worth it

Since that day, he asks every day to go ride bikes with his friends

Just stay in the neighborhood, buddy :)

My heart can't smile any harder

Y'all have good

Sort:  

Damn. Now I'm crying. Foxboy can do anything. I believe in him.

awwww. You can do anything too, buddy. I believe in you
haha

He's a really great kid

Bikes are so much fun for kids.wouldn have wanted to replace any of mine with a game console when I was a kid. Oh no, riding that “look alike sports bike” with 6 speeds and crashing was so much fun. Even a broken pulse or clavicula (two different episodes) didn’t keep me from getting back on that bike ASAP

Right? Must be genetic or something. Only one bike in the collection these days - a bicycle that took two car accidents and still rides :D

Took so freakin' long to straighten the frame, but I didn't want to snap anything. Other than that, it just needed some new rims and a brake cable

It was my daily driver for years when I lived in downtown Boise. Big ol' beach cruiser with a milk crate strapped on the back. Just hangs in the garage now, cuz I love it

Congratulations @foxon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 comments. Your next target is to reach 600 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!