TEENAGE PREGNANCY

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

    Since I became a mother, I started joining support groups. It is an online community that we can talk everything under the sun. You can joke around, let off some steam regarding your marital issues, about in-laws, financial problems and especially dealing with little ones. One time, there was a mother who posted questionnaire and most of the mothers pasted their answers in the comment box. One of the questions really bothered me because the majority of the mothers who answered that question replied this:

How old did you get pregnant: 15/16/17 year old
Source of Income: None

    I don't condemn girls who got pregnant at an early age. In fact, I salute them because as the only Christian country in SoutheastAsia and a pro-life myself, most of my teenage co mothers didn't resort aborting their babies after they found out that they were pregnant.

"Ang mali ay hindi maitatama ng isa pang mali.
You cannot correct a wrong with a wrong."

    But this age, they supposed to be at least at school carrying books, not a baby in their arms. Lucky to those young mothers who were born with parents who still can afford to send them to school even after having a child. But how about parents who don't have a source of income or little income, only enough to provide food on the table​ for the family​?It is not only the teenage mom suffers but especially the parents too.

    What happens​ when the child is sick?They cant just sponge bath their baby if his body temperature is above 40 degrees. They need to go to the ​ hospital. Hospital means bills. Lucky to those who got their PhilHealth​. Insurance will cut the extra bill cost. How about others who don't​​ have? What happens when they don't​ have money to buy formula milk? I have seen mothers who still have the capacity to breastfeed their babies but chose formula milk instead. I don't​ have a ​problem with that either. The question is, can they manage to provide formula milk if young mothers don't​ have jobs? Most of my teenage co mothers posts regarding financial issues. Their partners/husbands cannot​ even provide them food and most of the time, relying on parents for support. If stressed out for being jobless and the sudden big responsibility​ at a tender age, they fight which sometimes lead to physical and verbal abuse. SAD but TRUE.



As a ​parent, what can be done to prevent and lower the rates of teenage pregnancy?

Proper guidance to our children plays a great role. Sit down and talk. Communicate. Explain what is sex and don't​ make it as a taboo subject. Let them take care of babies. In this way, it will give them the idea that having a baby is not an easy job. It takes patience, responsibility​, time and extra love too. Encourage them by talking about their goals and help them achieve it because there is a much better life waiting for them if they pursue their dreams.

22140936_10155285864677600_2642691663163734904_n.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://zeusevsusls.weebly.com/factors-causing-teenage-pregnancy.html

Talking to your teenage kids about sex is not easy, although parents can always give regular reminders if possible not to have bf/gf that early and if they already have, proper guidance and maybe to be strict a bit for them not to have all the chance to do what should not be done.

I can see young girls who already have babies as young as 15 and even don't have husbands who supposedly will at least help her to raise the child.

Thank u for your insights. And yes. Just sad. Most teenage moms raide her child single handedly.

I agree with @long888. Proper guidance ang regular conversations with your kids can help. Well at least for this girls who got pregnant at an early age, it's still good that they take responsibility of their actions.

Right sis. ❤️

"BUHAY KO 'TO!"nakarinig na ako niyan. NABUNTIS! Sino nag-alaga? E, di magulang! Sarap pagsisipain ang mga taong ganyan! Naku nasa bata na rin iyan KUNG NAGPAPABUTAS ANG BATA AS EARLY AS 12 YEARS OLD, PROBLEMA pa ba ng magulag iyan? OO, pero sino dapat ang magsabi ng AYAW KO? E, di dapat BABAE! Tsk. gusto rin! Tsalap! Tsalap, e! As simple as that! KUNG ANG BATANG LALAKI AY ARAL SA BUHAY MAHIRAP AT HINDI PAPETIK-PETIK KAYA NIYANG HARAPIN IYAN KAHIT PA GANYAN ANG EDAD! 4 years old or 3 years old wala na ako sa bahay nasa lakwatsa na ako! Lol. Pero lahat ng ayaw ko at BAWAL ayaw ko niyan! Grrr... Kahit pagkakausapin mo ang mga anak mo kahit pa open iyan sa usapan ninyo... DEPENDE PAANO NALIBUGAN ANG MGA ANAK BABAE! Tsk... at KUNG LALAKING BATA NA MAY ISIP NA MATINO HINDI MO MUNA LALAWAYIN SI BABAE KUNG HINDI KA PA HANDA! Kaya hayan kailan lang may nabuntis na 18 years old na apo ng tiyahin ko, e, di congrats... NASA BATANG BABAE PA RIN IYAN! TURUAN ANG MGA BATANG BABAE NA MATUTONG MAGSABI NG AYAW KO MUNA PABUTAS! As simple as that wala na akong maisip na iba... NAGBUBUTAS NGA SA TEXT HAYZ!

Lol! Yes! True sir. Minsan kahit gaano pagpapaalala ng mga magulang, kung matigas ulo ng mga bata, wala din.

"Ama, ipinapaubaya ko na sa iyo ang anak ko. Nawa'y patnubayan mo po siyang hindi muna magBF at magpagalaw at mabuntis." E, kailan lang may TSIKININI! Alangan naman kaya mong lagyan iyan sa sarili mo! Lol natawa tuloy ako kay Kyumi! Hayz... Sorry friend ha pero... Nabanggit ko lang... Bibihira na ata ang tulad kong wala ng bisyo at di babaero ay naiwanan pa dahil lang sa kapatid kong di niya makasundo hayz..

Tama c Sir John. Nung teenager pa ako marami naman akong kaibigang lalaki kasa-kasama nagdisco tuwing gabi. Umiyak nga ako nun kasi everytime na may trip kami sa beach laging tatawag nag aaupdate ang papa ko hanggang 1am na nang umaga ako nakauwi pero until now wala namang nangyari sakin kasi depende lang yan sa babae. Marami talagang mga malilibog na nanligaw nuon pero di ko pinatulan. Ngayon na matanda na ang mama ko, cya na ang naghihingi kung kelan magka-apo.

I couldn't agree more. Says it all!

Some people under estimate those early pregnancy, however..if this case is already happened, abortion is not an option. Life is a gift.!

true!! it is precious!. Kung ayaw sa bata, atleast give the child a chance to live.

There shall always be a proper guidance and proper parenting to prevent young women raise babies in their young age but I respect all the young mothers in the world who did not try to abort the babies and salute them for being brave and strong. My greatest fear is to be pregnant and raise a baby I cannot feed. So now I am 25 y.o without baby and not married. My two sisters are married without babies. My mother is older who wished for a grandchildren as well as father and it is sad to tell that father passed away just after my sister-in-law delivered the baby. Now my mother feels upset when her grandson is away because she has only 1 grandchild. Before my 25 age, I dated guys but broke a guy if I hear telling he wanna marry.

Before my 25 age, I dated guys but broke a guy if I hear telling he wanna marry.

Afraid of getting married sis?

Nakarelate ako.. 😢

I can still remember when my mom shouted at me when she knew that I have a boyfriend nung 3rd yr college ako, I cried a lot. However, was thankful for my mom kase nilayo niya ako sa temptations. Kailangan talaga ng guidance ng magulang kase sila yung magtuturo sa iyo at para maging successful ka din in the future.

Nasa parenting din po minsan. Nakulangan ng guidance sa kanilang mga magulang. Nakakagulantang lang na pabata ng pabata ang mga ina.

I remember this was my topic in a speech during my college. Nice one!

Although I am a "pro-choice" person, I admire women who had their first child at a very early age. However, I still think that proper education will stop this from happening.