#A mother@teacher

in #parenting6 years ago

I am Morikin a mother of four children and a grandmother of two beautiful kids, and I can say, with all credibility that being a parent and a grandmother is one of the toughest jobs . It begins from the moment your child comes to your home and ends after a certain period called "lifetime." There is no salary from your services,other than the love that your children give you back. There is no overtime pay for making you wait late in the evening,other than their safe return home.And your retirement pay? It is just seeing them successful in life.....and eventually seeing your grandchildren.

Parenting is an awesome responsibility.....and the responsibility is made even more difficult by the world in which we now live.It's a great challenge to raise a child in today's sex-oriented, crime, and violence saturated world. With advance technology, kids have gotten smarter....".How do we response to these challenge?

Funny ,but I always say I am tough and just shrug my shoulders.But in reality,I scream in silence,after all my children think I am tough.

But while I have projected a tough image of my kids, I have refrained from doing one thing which many mothers out there are guilty of.....nagging.

No one wants to hear a nagging person....not my children, and, I'm sure not my husband.We have the best intention in scolding our kids,but if we nag and nag, we may just be pushing them into their worst behavior.
I happened to be a teacher.That's my second job.So as my kids were growing up, I used the teacher's way to communicate with them.I showed them examples, I lectured them in a nice way, and I imparted Values on them....with less of shouting...and with lots of love.

Parenthood can be exciting in developing love and understanding in the family.For those parents who have grown up children "Congratulation." And for those parents who have just started "Good Luck."