Break in at my place this morning

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I read an article about two weeks ago about popular times for break ins, and it said that normally it stops at 04:00am. So this morning exactly 04am, the beams outside were triggered.
Instantly I looked at my watch and thought to myself, "surely it's too late for a break in."

Hahaha I honestly find that so funny, that I immediately wrote it off as maybe a false alarm because of an article I read. But sure as hell, there they were in my yard.

They triggered the alarm and actually climbed back over the fence, waited about 5mins and decided to try again. So by that time my security company was already on their way and luckily they caught one of them!

I feel a bit funny now, by the time I write this it's been atleast 6 hours and my heart is still physically shaking inside my chest.
I guess that's goodbye sleep for the coming month as I'm overly paranoid already as it is.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to hear that happened to you, its never something you get over being a victim of crime. I've had the front of my car stolen like the actual bumper lights, the works If it wasn't so stupid perhaps I'd be more upset

I'm glad nothing major happened and it just goes to show we can't take any chances these days. I mean when I grew up, we had no fences around our house, you could do as you please now you really need to be on your guard at all times

Yeah its big even about what they take, its just the violation of your private space, and maybe the 'what ifs'. Like what would have happened if no one showed up, what would have happened if my beams didnt catch them.

But I guess for now I'm lucky and we should all just be more vigilant and careful

Posted using Partiko Android

So sorry to hear that!
Don’t let your imagination carry you away, they are more affraid of you then you are of them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope you are right ! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

It is rather funny,that I saw you were from S Africa, I was going to ask how safe it was, I always wanted to go to Gansbasi. shark cage diving... read so much here about crime etc... but know how news can distort things... thought a local would have a better opinion

Posted using Partiko iOS

No its probably as bad as you read in the news, maybe even more. Unfortunately! I mean we love this country but a lot of people are leaving because its becoming super dangerous.
For instance, at my house I have electric fencing, alarm beams all around the house, safety gates by all the doors and a safety gate in front of my bedroom door.
I also have 2 way radios next to my bed and in the kitchen and I sleep with a gun within arms reach.

If that's not hectic then I dont know what is, I'm also not a unique case, that's how we live here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my.... I have never experienced anything close to that. It would be a difficult way to live for sure. Amazing how people adapt and deal with it though.
Stay safe!! Keep riding!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @aliciasteyn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!