Working for My Mom

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

My mother scowls at me as she gets out of the shower. Angry that I refused to help her, she ranted that I would do work for weeks and won't even help her with something that would take 3 days at most.

First of all, the most I've worked on one project was a week. She still insisted that I worked "weeks".

Second, I enjoyed those jobs. Transcribing audio is so boring and tedious. I wouldn't even do it for money.

I caved in as her complaints never ended. "Fine," I tell her, "I'll do it already."

I move the audio from her phone and into my computer. I check the total time. Okay, 16 minutes. The first file is only 5 minutes. Not too bad at least.

I work on it for 45 minutes and realized it was taking way longer than I expected. I've done 7 minutes of audio??

No, I check the total time again. It wasn't 16 minutes. It was 16 HOURS. THE FIRST FILE WAS 5 HOURS.

I calculated that it would take me 75 days just to finish the first file.

I just stopped. I just couldn't anymore.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Teach your mother how to do it herself. She can invest her energy in working instead of scolding.
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a good idea! Thanks haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 3.11% upvote from us for your 820 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @centurions90! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @centurions90! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day