JitteryMan's Origin - Freewrite Day 586 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Chapter

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of an ongoing story. See Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. Does anyone have suggestions for listing these more efficiently? I’m considering a table.


A new chapter had opened in JitteryMan’s life. He had spent the past few months searching, desperately, for any reference he could find to the Shadow Warrior, or the organization that had sent it. So far, he had found absolutely nothing. Besides the single event at the hospital, there had been no reports of such a being doing anything, anywhere in the world. As frustrated as he was, Leo knew that he had to stay on top of this, for at any moment he could be fighting for his life again. This could be the final chapter of his life, if he wasn’t careful.

On top of the searching, Leo performed all of his normal duties. Monitoring the news, saving people, fighting natural disasters, training. His was a hectic life, but he knew that this was what he wanted to be doing in the world. Making a difference, improving the lives of those whom he could. He was just happy that fate had given him the chance to do so, with that fateful day so long ago.

He had been walking through a remote, inaccessible part of Colombia, searching for an ancient ruin that he had heard was potentially in this jungle. In his old life, he had been something of an archaeologist. No Indiana Jones, but he spent more time searching for old relics in dangerous locations than most formally trained people ever would.

As he was making his way slowly through the dense jungle, he started to notice that birds were chirping differently. At first, he couldn’t place what it was, but after a time he figured it out. They were chirping faster. Substantially so. Looking around, he saw them flitting from tree to tree, seemingly with inexhaustible energy. He also saw tons of insects, scurrying around vigorously. It was like the whole area was sped up.

He walked on, confused, but not too put off. It wasn’t until he started noticing that he was walking extremely fast that he became concerned. He burst into a clearing, panic starting to set in, as he knew something was wrong. He started turning in a circle, looking for something, anything, that may explain what was happening. Through the trees, he spotted what appeared to be a hut. Taking a second to gather his nerve, he walked, rapidly, towards it.

Sitting on the porch was a man of indeterminate age. He held a steaming mug in his hands, and was slowly sipping it. He looked up as Leo walked into the clearing where the hut was, a smile on his face.

“I’ve been expecting you,” the man said in Spanish. Luckily, Leo had spent many years learning the language, and was fluent.

“You have? How?” Leo noticed that even his speech was massively sped up, but the man seemed to have no trouble understanding him.

“You are the chosen one, Leo. You will take on the mantle of the sacred coffee, and use its power to protect the world.” The man said this with a straight face, as though it was the most obvious thing in the world.

“Excuse me, what? Sacred coffee? Protect the world?” Leo was standing there, mouth slightly agape, confused as to what this man could possibly be talking about.

“Do you not feel the sacred coffees power? It is so strong that it has infused this whole area with its power. You must feel it. The speed, the strength. Notice the birds, how they sing and fly. I know that you have questions, and don’t understand. But in time, you will. For now starts the next chapter of your life.”


Greetings my fellow Earth citizens :)

I wanted to pick up my JitteryMan story again. It’s been a very long while, but hopefully you like it. I am definitely a bit rusty at writing, and this went way over the 5 min mark, but I liked where the story was going :)

I’m not sure if I’ll go more into the origin of JitteryMan, or Leo, now that I have finally given him a name.

This first picture is of a Koguis shaman, at Ciudad Perdida, Colombia, which is what the second picture is showing.

[Source](By Dwayne Reilander - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link)

This is sort of who I was picturing in my story.

Source](By Dwayne Reilander - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link)

Colombia is beautiful! I’m glad I looked this up.

I am also having my FreeWrite’s be an SBI giveaway. This is a way to reward my fellow FreeWriter’s, and hopefully motivate me to do daily freewrite’s again. No promises on that, but I am going to make an attempt.

What you need to do to enter is simply comment on this post with a link to your freewrite. I will then assign you a number, and when I write the next post, I will pick using a random number generator. There’s no need to resteem or upvote, though it would be helpful to allow me to do this contest for longer.

Until next time,

Aloha


Here are the results from the first giveaway:

@carolkean: Entry #1 - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/you-little-tart-day-585-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-tart

@owasco: Entry #2 - https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@owasco/tart-a-freewrite

@creativesoul: Entry# 3 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@creativesoul/70dwydvq

@samioli: Entry #4 - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@samioli/freewrite-entry-prompt-tart

I used Google’s Random Number Generator (if someone has a preferred method let me know) and got 3. So @creativesoul, you are the lucky winner.

Thank you all for your entries, I enjoyed reading them, and I look forward to your next one.


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-586-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-chapter

Prompt: “Chapter”


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.



Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Here's a 100% upvote from the @contestkings community.

If you run a contest and need support click here to connect with us today!

Thank you :) this is much appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Story part linking can be pretty tough on steem blockchain. There really is no simple way to have a link to all parts unless it is less than 5 parts, more than that it starts to get hard and just does not look good.

When they started to allow unlimited time to edit that helped some. If you think it is going to be more than 5 parts I would suggest a TOC page. One that you can edit, and then you only need to apply one link in the current episode, back to the TOC page.

On the TOC, a short description of the story, maybe a paragraph at the beginning then the table of contents, then a closing paragraph.

(I haven't read the story yet but will get to it I hope)


The Jittery Man

TOC

Chapter 1 - A Hero is Brewed

Chapter 2 - A Nemesis for JitteryMan

Chapter 3 - Fighting Shadows


Just add the one link The Jittery Man TOC at the beginning and end of the story.

You can edit it as often as needed even after a year or more. I would try to avoid over working the page with a lot of text and stuff, but a couple of one or two line description for each chapter/part.

Oh wow, that is an awesome idea. I think I will have to do that. Seems like it'd be way more efficient.

Thank you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Love that the whole new region is jittery, just like jittery man, sped up vibrations. And sacred coffee! That's a bit funny. Looking forward to more.
I like when folks put their previous parts just as you have done it. It was very easy to catch up on Jittery Man.
Here's mine for today:
https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@owasco/chapter-a-freewrite
Thanks for the chance of winning a prize!

I thought it was an interesting concept, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

You are entry #1 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Here's a link to one of my #freewrites. I nominated your #freewrite as my favorite this week. 👍

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-585-freewrite-monday-nest

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for doing that :) it is quite kind of you.

You are entry #2 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

...

You're welcome :)

Hmm. I was going to leave it open for reentry, but maybe I should have a 1 or 2 day waiting period.

I hope that you enjoy it, thank you for your kind words :)

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @nmcdougal94! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @nmcdougal94 :) | For investors.

Congratulations @nmcdougal94! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I hope that you enjoy them :)

Thank you for the prompt.

Posted using Partiko Android