Passion is not just enough.

in #passion7 years ago (edited)

image
(Shutterstock.com)

I have listened to many motivational and success preachers who kept persuading their subject to focus only on their passion, as the only means to achieve wealth and be successful in life.

Most of them made it seem like, you can never be successful with anything aside your passion.

Although it makes us feels good succeeding in life by doing what we really love. But the sixty four thousand dollar question is “Will passion be the only option that will guarantee the financial success and freedom we desire in life”?

Some people can actually achieve great success doing what's their passion. While many people are passionate about things that do not really have any inherent monetization strategy.

For instance, I used to be very passionate about skating when I was a teenager. I love skating so much that I felt like that's the only thing I was born to do. I never ponder for once if there is anyway I can make a living just by skating. As I advance in age, it became very clear to me that there is no way I can achieve the kind of success and freedom that I desire merely by skating.

The same applies to many people. Some may be passionate about becoming a teacher, banker or any other profession. But in the long run they will discover that it's very difficult for them to create a profitable business that can empower such passion. At such period, their passion will not really matter to them again.but how they can create other means of survival.

Don't get me wrong, am not against anyone following whatever passion they think they have. but what am really concerned about is that; passion should not be viewed as the only means to achieve success and financial freedom.

Nevertheless, if someone is passionate about something that seem like a good business, that's great then. Move on!

But in Contrary to that, I might not feel passionate about something, but if there is some chances of making a fortune from it.
I will definitely immersed myself in it and study all there is to know about that particular thing and thereby grab my own share of the profit that comes with such.

Another example is when I was introduced to @steemit and the idea of @cryptocurrencies. Though it was not something that am really interested on, but taking an account at the potential that comes with it. I decided to dig in and did my study.
While most people, after being introduced to such opportunity, will totally shun it. all because to them it's not what they feel passionate about or really love to do.

that's might not be a bad idea. but such people sometimes end up missing an opportunity that would have changed their life.

Finally, in my own opinion, I believe “passion can only be viewed as anything one can spend quality time doing not minding if they are paid for it or not.”

So the right question one should ask: “is there anyway I can turn my passion into a profitable venture”? If the answer is no. Then there is a need to look for another way to become profitable aside from just exercising your passion.

image
(Shutterstock.com)

But let's face it, it feels good when our passion can actually be turned into a profitable business. This can really make work to be very fun.

My final verdict; it will be such a great idea to go after your passion purely as a passion and then find other ways to pay for it.

Sort:  

Passion is a driving force.

Hmmmmmmm truth.

Passion is the starting point of all achievement

Congratulations @pascallawrence! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pascallawrence! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!