Pay it forward: Looking back and moving on with life's sweetness on a TGIF

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Pay it forward.jpg

This is my entry for the #payitforward curation contest week 17. The contest is being hosted by @thedarkhorse and will soon be taken over by @pifc. It is about helping others to boost their reputation and encourage them to keep contributing good quality blogs. The rules are simple so everyone can join any week. Get more details here: Looking Back - Pay It Forward Curation Contest Week 17.

This week's curation has the theme "Looking back" which should focus on how our previous featured bloggers are doing now. Since I joined the contest only last week, it is a bit early to be looking back for both bloggers I featured so I thought of combining a "looking back" and "moving on" curation. That means one will be from my previous blog and the other would be a newly picked blogger.

One of the bloggers I featured last week is Andy, @andyalaby. He spoke about his being a loser and his efforts to overcome it. I was not expecting to win the contest and much more to have someone sponsor him for Steem Basic Income. But we did it and we were so happy about it. Last week, he was at reputation level 25. Now he is at 27. That is a great improvement in a short period. This week he wrote about his great inspiration in life who turned out to be his grandmother.
20180727_133611.jpg
The granny has a lot of talents and skills which Andy thinks he inherited most of those. He is now working on improving his so many skills as he continues to search his purpose in life. What's worth mentioning about this young man is that he is very positive about life.

My newly found featured blogger is @island-girl from Cebu City, Philippines with reputation level 49. I found her on my feed through @steemgigger who resteemed her post. What caught my attention on her blog is the "Homemade Filipino Goodies" on the title. At first I thought the blog is less than 200 words so I copied and pasted on MS Word then checked the word count. Hahaha! Call me shallow... but that confirmed the blog to be more than 200 words.

The blog was about the desserts that she and her sister made during their day off from work. The desserts they made are mouth-watering. But what impressed me more are the bond they shared as siblings and keeping the Filipino spirit of giving when they shared what they made with their neighbors.
In_Shot_20180725_185715933.jpg
I admire the bonding that the sisters shared by making the sweets. I am the eater and not the cook or preparer type when it comes to food so my bonding with my siblings is when we are already at the table and eating what they prepared. Though I help out sometimes, I am still more on the eater side. There was a time when I was still going to school and living in the state with my family, my elder brother came home with a bag of fishes for dinner. He put the bag on the sink and asked me to take over. Meaning, I clean and cook. I said I'll clean the fishes but he should cook because he cooks better and tastier, then I laughed. He stared at me and said, "kababaeng tao eh..." He did not complete his statement but he meant I am the female person and yet does not know how to cook. I laughed again and teased him further that he cooks better. Yes, he did the cooking that time. Yeah, yeah, I'm spoiling myself from cooking chores.

@island-girl is right about our giving spirit which reminds me of my mother. I have to admit I am not as much of a giver like her. 🙄 Whenever we have occassion at home, my mother would ask anyone of us to go out and invite the neighbors. If she happens to ask me and I just keep quiet, she won't stop until I heed her. Sometimes I end up sending one of my nieces or nephews instead. That is called delegation, okay? 😉

It has been a pleasure reading the blogs of these wonderful people on a Friday. I look forward to more blogs that make the world sweeter and better place. Now, keep calm and whisper TGIF. Thank God, it's Friday!

Have a great weekend Steem world!

👣👣 Follow 👣👣 the honor code 🏅 - 🏅 The Creed 🏅- with conditions and limitations for guaranteed 👍👍 daily income 💵 💵 and payout 💸💸 for newbies (2.0) 🐟🐟🐜🐛 🐛 in #ccc

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

nice picks @macoolette, already show my support to your featured bloggers and really happy to see you keep posting and doing good .. aren't you in Philipines too.. so,I think we have the same thing here in Indonesia, we'll keep offering anyone to eat when we're eating, right?

Thank you for your support @dipoabasch. Yes, I am in the Philippines. I haven't been to Indonesia yet but if we share the same spirit of giving specially to those who are in need then that is great to know. May the spirit spread out even way beyond us.

You're really such a sweet heart for having my blog featured here in your article. You put a smile on my face and I really appreciate your support and everyone who upvoted and read my blog. I'm also glad to read about your family and your mom is very kind hearted person. Generosity comes with kindness and love. I read a wonderful quote that

A heart full of love has always something to give

Well, I understand you about delegation lol, especially washing the dishes =) that happens between siblings too. I can see you have a compassionate heart full of love and you have so much to give to the world. Just keep it up! Have a great and sweet weekend to you and your family.

Waahhh... washing of dishes has been mine! 😂 That is something I can not excuse myself from because the younger one gets that job and I am the youngest. I can't get my way out of my elder brothers. Hehehe...

Thanks for your compliments. May you and your family also have a great weekend! 😊

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I loved it the story of @island-girl, it's good when you share with other persons, and the world needs more like that. I would like to my neighborhoods share like before, but things changed here jejejeje. Aaa by the way you look like the boss of your family delegating chores jajajaajaja

It is good that you also liked @island-girl's story. Who knows someday, Venezuela's situation will significantly improve and you can go back to your old ways of sharing with your neighbors.

No, I am not the boss of my family. I am actually the last in line in regards to hand-me-down tasks because I am the last child with three elder brothers. See that? I grew up with 3 big boys surrounding me. 😀 I was just able to get around with cooking because my housemates know the result later on. The food I cook can be near disaster. But I can't get away with other tasks...I only "got away" with those tasks when I started working in the city and left my family in the state. But that also means doing everything for myself on my own - including cooking. So pity me with my own recipe. All fried. That's all I can cook aside from instant noodles. 😞

Ohhhh jajajaja well why you do not buy books of cook? and try it and after you will be good in cooking

Nope, it won't work. When my mother would ask me to cook during my childhood, I will cook steamed rice and she will take care of the viand. If I was asked to cook viands, I'd rather go tend the stocks like feed the chickens and pigs or take the goats to the grass land. It is about what you are interested in doing. 😊

Mmmmm well, it's ok jejejeje :)

Oh, cool. Let me try that here. 😊 Thanks!

Welcome to #ccc Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

Please check out other [osts in the #ccc community - click on the tag please.

I'll upvote you after my SP is regenerated.

All the best!

Thank you.

Sorry to be behind on comments today. I did get over to visit your features.
Great choices this week!

Oh, don't be sorry. No apologies needed. I understand other matters can be more pressing sometimes. Take your time. Thanks for your support. Have a great weekend! 😊

upvoted this post at 50% to welcome you to #ccc.

This is my second 50% so I got your 100% for the day, ha! 🌞🌞🌞

Thank you for the entry and paying attention to the rules. Funny how little 200 words really is and that is why I used it. It's enough that someone needs to make some effort other then photos, but not so many that it excludes people that have a hard time writing.

Both featured blog posts have been upvoted and you have received a 100% upvote from @pifc.

Even without the 200-words rule, I also look at the effort of presenting what is supposed to be presented instead of just posting photo and let the audience figure the story out. Few exemptions will be if the photo is really good that it tells its own story.

Thank you for your support for the featured bloggers and on this blog.

Really love your picks @macoolette, love to see how @andyalaby grew his ability on writing and hang out with anyone on discord too. He'll be a great inspration for his friends at his age from Venezuella. that second featured bloggers makes me want to eat more marshmallow but I knew it will make my throat sore and the mango buko pandan jelly... I think I will use the strawberry or Melon Jelly instead.. that's all I have in my treasure kitchen box. Thanks again and Have a wonderful weekend!

Thanks for all your support. Sweets can hit the throat but you can follow them up with more water to avoid sore throat. Any flavor of jelly will do.

You too have a wonderful weekend! 😊

Thank you for joining us again this week @macoolette!! You've had some great features.

Thank you for the entry @macoolette :)

My pleasure. Thank you too for your support. 😊

You are most welcome @macoolette 😅

Have a great week ahead! 😊

Te felicito por tu entrada @macoolette, un abrazo.

Thank you too @celinavisaez. My pleasure. 😊