The Musket

in #percussion2 years ago

Last semester, I took Survey of American Literature 1 in which we read the entire book Moby Dick. It was quite the challenge and to be honest I don't remember most of what I read.

At the end of the class we were assigned a creative project to take any part of Moby Dick and make it whatever we wanted. My professor said to take anything we were already talented at and make a project out of it.

My mind immediately jumped to percussion. I recruited my friend Jonah, who was also in the class, and together we created something unique. He took a monologue by Starbuck and performed it while I played an excerpt from a marimba solo in the background. We chose this moment because Starbuck is debating whether to kill Ahab or not. It is a great moment for internal conflict accented by dark music.

At first I thought it would be easy, but when Jonah and I tried to put the performance with the music, it just wasn't clicking. Finally I realized that I just had to make the music match what he was saying by memorizing the specific moments where he got emotional and increasing the emotional performance of my music. I'm proud of the work we put together.

We performed it together in a practice room for my professor and his wife and they both left crying. Needless to say, we both got an A.

Without further ado, "The Musket," by Jonah Abrell and Chandler Dean, adapted from the works of Herman Melville and Guillaume Le Picard.


"The Musket"

Sort:  

Congratulations @chandlerd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 5
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!