Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // A Plant Spotlight on Kava

Hi everyone! Today I want to share some information about a magical plant, kava. I recently was introduced to kava, and my relationship with the plant has been blooming to abundance. I'll dive more into my personal journey with the plant in a future post, and explain how I drink it. In this post, I want to cover the basics of the plant and share some information that I learned from two amazing books - Pharmakopoeia by Dale Pendall (thanks @jaredwood for letting me borrow it!) and The Green Pharmacy Herbal Handbook by James A. Duke, Ph.D. The photos in this post are of my friends and I gathering around kava.

- Plant basics

a) It is in the pepper family, Piperaceae
b) The rootstock of the plant is used

- Effects

a) serenity
b) relieves fatigue
c) sleep inducing at larger doses
d) muscle relaxant
e) anaphrodisiac
f) local anesthetic
g) anti-anxiety - studies show that kava extract reduces stress and anxiety as effectively as diazepam (Valium) and other benzodiazepines
h) combats insomnia
i) relaxes the uterus (good for helping with menstrual cramps)

- Plant history

a) Kava (piper methysticum) was first cultivated from a wild plant in Melanesia, piper wichmannii
b) Kava is a sterile cultivar, meaning that propagation can only occur from root cuttings rather than from seeds

- Tradition

a) Kava originates from the Pacific Islands, with its original cultivation probably occurring on Vanuatu
b) On occasion, it was historically drunk in burial grounds to communicate with one's ancestors
c) There are many different ceremonies surrounding kava

- The soul of the plant - What does kava ask of humans? What does the plant invoke in us?

a) Peace
b) Quiet speech
c) Conflict resolution
e) Clear communication

- Chemistry

a) The active constituents of kava are kavalactones. The six major kavalactones are demethoxy-yangolin, dihydrokavain, yangonin, kavain, dihydromethysticin, and methysticin
b) These kavalactones are the cause of the effects humans experience (serenity, relaxant, ect) when ingesting the plant
c) The various chemotypes of kava can be classified based on the relative amount of each of the six major kavalactones
d) Different chemotypes contain different relative amounts of each of the six major kavalactones, which also determines what kind of physiological effect that specific chemotype would have on humans
e) People would cultivate kava based on their desired physiological effect
f) There are 720 different chemotypes of kava
g) The dried kava root contains 3-20% kavalactones, with 15% being the average

- Possible dosage

a) One can ingest kava at different times of the day depending on the desired effect. If someone wants to use it to unwind and fall asleep, ingesting kava an hour before bedtime would be helpful. If someone wants to destress and combat anxiety, small dosages throughout the day would be helpful as well.
b) Suggested - 1 teaspoon powdered root in tea (max 3x/day), or 250 milligrams kava extract containing 75 milligrams of kavalactones (max 3x/day), or 1/2-1 teaspoon liquid root extract

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. If you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition, consult your physician before using this product.

Bula!

(I'll talk in my next post about what that means in relation to kava :-) )

Sort:  

Some evil A-holes in the US tried to ban it.. but the out cry they got has stopped them for now.

So where is exactly we can find Kava? So do you find it at America forest ? :)

I love Kava. There was a time in NYC where you could go to a Kava bar! They were trying to change drinking culture into Kava culture. Loved it! Great powt with great info! Thanks for sharing with the community!

Upvote and comments

A wonderful and informative post! I love these photos of you and your friends drinking kava together - I've introduced a few of my friends to this incredible plant but they can't stomach the taste, haha.

Have you been to Bula Kava House in Berkeley, by any chance? A bit pricey but it's neat to see kava gaining popularity since it's a healthier and safer alternative to alcohol.

Where can I get some Kava? Interesting post.

Thanks for an informative post!
I have followed you, follow me 😄😄

Thanks for sharing! I am going to try to find it in Europe, now I want to try it. Apparently it used to be prohibited in Germany but not any more.

Hey @anwenbaumeister,
looks like you´ve got some delicious drinks out of this plant :) I haven´t heard of it so far but will definitely look into it a little more detailed and probably try to get some on my own somehow ;)
Will look forward to your next Post on your personal journey with Kava :)

Wow that's cool! I really would love to try. Usual smoke weed to get these effect but it would be nice not to get stoned and get the same effect. Or do you get stoned? Upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you for a very informative article. I had heard of kava before, but not remotely as much information as you have provided.

😄😇😄

@creatr

How readily is kava available? Anyone in South Africa have any idea?

I'll drink to that my friend, thanks for sharing.

nice post
if you guys like my post then please upvote follow resteemed
https://steemit.com/steem/@neerajsharma007/top-5-altcoin-investment-july

such a very informative post,bringing steemians to be healthy, thank you for sharing the benefits of that plant and it's usage . <3

Good post, I like your post @anwenbaumeister

Very nice!

I've taken kava pills to fall asleep but tea sounds even better.

Interesting. I've never heard of this plant before. Probably not my thing. But exceptional introduction to the plant.

Interesting, i'd never heard of kava before. Also, that book pharmakopeia is one i've been meaning to get for a while after hearing Terrence Mckenna mention it.

Learning more all of the time regarding what is possible to grow, here on the homestead. Thank you. 🐓🐓

Interesting :) I following you :)

Great post @anwenbaumeister. Do you know where one can order it in Europe, Sweden?

So good in Hawaii to drink ava from coconut shells!

I heard of kava before but I never tried. The time has come, looks beneficial in so many aspects