Short Term Plans for the Land - (There's no Rush, BUT) I've Just Got to Sort my Shit Out!

So I've had a pretty manic time on the land the last three weeks, clearing brash and strimming and clearing out rubbish and generally getting used to using buckets for shitting and showering (different buckets).

TBH thinking back I'm amazed I've enjoyed myself as much as I have - because the chores have been pretty unfulfilling (killing trees, even if they are non-native tinder-box pine trees is NOT on my fun list) and it's also been quite uncomfortable - with a less than adequate kitchen and ablutions set up.

So it's the novelty and early-project enthusiasm that's carried me through, but now I really NEED to start being clever and start to get constructive and creative in improving my set up asap to keep the old spirits up.

So, I've spent the best part of Friday evening figuring out what my priority list should be, besides the daily necessity of land clearance for fire safety - what projects can I start and complete in a relatively short period of time (hours, days or weeks per project rather than months) and what is a realistic level of 'plush' that I can expect as an end result in a relatively short time span.

20210331_172736.jpg
I need to feel like I'm doing more than just dragging out brash!

I'm going to start with a brainstorm of what I'd like achieved by the end of 2021, and then figure out a realistic list of goals that I can achieve and to what level and in what order....

Below is kind of my thought process for ordering my priorities....

Initial brain storm of options

By the end of 2021 I would like the following SORTED:

  • An outdoor kitchen area on a platform on one of the olive terraces (will require a sun shade)
  • 4 ICBs set up above the fruit tree swales for water collection
  • An outdoor washing up area linked to the above
  • A simple bucket shower system and screen.
  • A wood store (ideal project one) A tarp roof will do
  • A wonderful compost toilet just down from the house
  • The upper area around the house tidied up
  • The olive terraces cleared so I can see them!
  • The house tidied out
  • Make the roof on the stone building safe for the dipping pool/ put a shade up over that and the existing outdoor kitchen area.
  • Redo the roof on the house
  • Do the floor on the house
  • Set up rain water storage at the house
  • Build a proper shower and washing up area up at the house.
  • Olive harvesting (November)
  • Plant 50 trees (December)

Grouping and modifying the above by area...

TBH I'd already naturally grouped most of the above anyways, but this adds a bit more of an order....

Olive terraces..

  • The olive terraces cleared so I can see them!
  • A fire pit on one of the olive terraces (no sun shade)

Above the fruit swales...

  • Tidy the area
  • 4 ICBs set up above the fruit tree swales for water collection
  • An outdoor washing up area linked to the above
  • A simple bucket shower system and screen.

Around the well...

  • Make the roof on the stone building safe for the dipping pool
  • Put a shade up over that and the existing outdoor kitchen area.

Down from the house...

  • A wood store (ideal project one) A tarp roof will do
  • A wonderful compost toilet just down from the house

Up at the house...

  • The upper area around the house tidied up
  • The house tidied out
  • Lime rendering on the house
  • Put in a secure cabinet for expensive tools
  • Redo the roof on the house
  • Do the floor on the house
  • Set up rain water storage at the house
  • Build a proper shower and washing up area up at the house.

Planting around the land

  • Olive harvesting (November)
  • Plant 50 trees (December)

And ordering the above logically!

Again, I'd already put this into a sort of order anyway, but a few more tweaks are needed and some more bits added in...

First two weeks in April....

Olive terraces..

  • The olive terraces cleared so I can see them!
  • A fire pit on one of the olive terraces (no sun shade)

Up at the house...

  • The upper area around the house tidied up
  • The house tidied out
  • The second lock put on the door
  • Make a basic compost toilet seat
  • Make some shelves

Buy a fire bin thing!

Above the fruit swales...

  • Tidy the area

OTHER - Put shade up around cabin in Alpedrinha

Second two weeks in April...

Above the fruit swales...

(I think my ICBs arrive in mid April so....)

  • 4 ICBs set up above the fruit tree swales for water collection
  • An outdoor washing up area linked to the above
  • A simple bucket shower system and screen.

May

Around the well...

Vital to do in May as it's going to be getting hot after!

  • Make the roof on the stone building safe for the dipping pool
  • Put a shade up over that and the existing outdoor kitchen area.

Up at the house...

  • Put at least one other shade area up - near the house
  • Lime rendering on the house
  • Put in a secure cabinet for expensive tools

June

Down from the house...

  • A wood store (ideal project one) A tarp roof will do
  • A wonderful compost toilet just down from the house

July - October

I may not be able to do anything much in August because of the heat but the following would be good....

All up at the house...!

  • Redo the roof on the house
  • Do the floor on the house
  • Put in new wood burning stove
  • Set up rain water storage at the house
  • Build a proper shower and washing up area up at the house.

The later two may have to wait until winter!

Oh, and gradually move all the wood to my wood store!

November and December

Harvesting and Planting around the land...

  • Olive harvesting (November)
  • Planting over winter veg (November)
  • Plant 50 trees (December/ Jan)
  • Plant 50 shrubs (December/ Jan)

And finishing off anything left over from summer!

Final Thoughts...

All of the above sounds manageable, now it's just a matter of nothing else (like life) getting in the way, learning how to build things, acquiring any and all of the materials I need at a reasonable price and actually sticking to the plan.

What could POSSIBLY go wrong?!?

Sort:  

Hahaha! Welcome to my world! Sounds like you are doing good at it though! Keep that morale up and prioritize the shower and toilet first.

Ah OK now that is REALLY good advice, it gets up to 40 degrees here in summer - sitting in cold water for a couple of hours is essential!

Yeah, and if you put just a small amount of water in it and leave it in the sun it gets quite warm and even hot in the summer months. Seems like you are a ways away from having any kind of plumbed water or I would recommend a portable on-demand propane water heater which makes life so much better. There is nothing like having hot water to soak in and/or absolutely plunging into the cold water in the heat of the day is awesome and refreshing.

Oh I am a long way off plumbing - I was in the hardware store the other day just kind of staring at the WALL of connectors and fittings and just walked away without buying anything.

Someone else I was talking to mentioned a portable propane water heater I might look into getting one - but I won't need one now really until November!

I should have included this earlier but a small camping tent makes for a great place to keep your poop bucket as well as your cover material and all the essentials. A tent devoted solely to that purpose makes things quite convenient.

Also @revisesociology look for a good water feature tub. They are meant to be buried but I have used one as an outdoor tub for the better part of a decade now. They come in a lot of shapes and sizes but if you search online for "Tuff Stuff TS-KMT85 Heavy Duty 85 Gal Oval Multipurpose Water Feed Storage Tank Tub Container Made from Eco Friendly 100 Percent Recycled LDPE, Black" you can see what I mean.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 37000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 38000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Looks like you have a solid plan to work from. This kind of relates to my job as a mechanic but on a much smaller scale. Sometimes I get cars with a huge list of jobs. I’ve found that it doesn’t matter whether I tackle the big jobs first or the small one, what seems to matter is that once I start one job I make sure I can finish it before moving on to the next. Sometimes that’s just not possible but it’s always been a good rule of thumb for me. Hope you keep your energy up and reward yourself after a long day as it looks like tough work.

That's a great way of looking at it, and a nice analogy - it's certainly what I plan to do.

Does a tepid bucket shower count as a reward?!?

Mate, if you’ve not got a cold beer in your hand after a day like yours then I question your sanity 😉