My FIRST memory...

in #personal7 years ago (edited)

I actually DO want to give this meaning, because this for some reason means a lot to me.

I think about this all the time and what it means...

f385e88fe50910ab732766342dc33757.jpg

What is your first memory? Have you ever thought about that?

Do you ever wonder HOW and WHY you remember things exactly the way you do?
And what significance that memory has to you? How it shaped you as YOU?

I thought about this for over a couple of months, looking at my baby picture with mom on my bedroom wall, ACTUALLY knowing and remembering exactly the moment the picture was taken, how I felt in that moment and what was happening.

That didn't even surprise me, 'coz I thought that many people remember being very, VERY little.
Not the case.

Then I thought: what is my FIRST memory?
That seeped into my brain so deep, I made an entire life of memories around it, that shaped me as I am today.

04fd579974fc9175ff86b09f733a649d.jpg

I'll tell you what I can remember and it does go back quite a bit...

I did ask my mom, some time ago...'Do you remember when I used to...?'
She sat with her eyes wide open, saying that SHE only remembers her memories since she was 5...

a3f22d6819b65be6c3f5c106f30a9a73.jpg

I have a couple of memories, sadly I don't remember exactly which one is my exact first one, but it's a bundle of firsts...

  • There is the memory of me going (running) to the kitchen to TRY to put the sugar spoon from the sugar jar in my mouth. YEP. heard it right. We didn't HAD a 'cookie-jar', just a plain sugar jar, where the golden looking spoon had huge slumps of sugar on it.
    Mom would put me in my room and close the see-through glass door, I would wait for a bit, see if she's 'there', anywhere in sign and run like hell throught the straight long way to the kitchen, somehow, magically, reach for the spoon and repeat this fr about three times...the 4th time : same thing, just...grampa comes out of his 'workshop room', catches me mid-crime,with the spoon in my mouth and mom comes out of knowhere, gramma takes a picture, of me in grampa's arms with a golden spoon in my mouth. I was still in diapers...

  • Then, there is this one...a play date! Mom has her BFF over with her two little ones and I still remember playing with a plastic telephone with the one that was my age and communicating NOT in words,but pure gibberish.
    I was wearing a hand-made sweater and diapers, mom took me in her arms and mid-playing tried to tickle me and I didn't wanted to be tickled, so I frowned and that's how another photo came to life, taken by her friend.

  • Then there is this kinda funny, sad one...where I am going "potty". I was born with some kind of suppressed nerve in my head and I didn't get a signal in my brain that I HAVE to or NEED to poop. So mom would be in front of me, saying all kinds of nice, childish gibberish for me to go 'poop'.

  • My favorite one is...My dad in front of my face, giving me this bright pink marker and a piece of yellowish paper from a sketch book to draw my first 'masterpiece'. I did a portrait of HIM. oh yes! YOU can imagine! :D
    It was to dots for eyes, a circle for a face, but that was my first introduction to an artistic side. I wasn't even there yet.

So there you are. Some of my infant memories. Nothing MAJOR of course, 'coz I was too little for something 'too cool' to happen :)

I hope you enjoy reading this and maybe would like to share some of your FIRST memories!

LOTS of love,
Goda

Sort:  

Congratulations @mylifeasgoda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!