Looking for a good home for my cat

in #pets6 years ago

7D5EAAFF-1025-4B07-82BD-16785A3DDEDC.jpeg

My husband past away at the end of last year and now I have to find a new home for my beloved male cat, Shadow. He is 3 years old and has been neutered. He is very friendly, loving, and good natured. He loves laying quietly beside you and having his belly rubbed. He’s good with other animals and kids.

I’ve exhausted all of my other resources and thought I would try the Steemit community before surrendering him to the pound in about 6 weeks. I live in the Grand Rapids, Michigan area. Please resteem this post as well as spreading the word through any other means you have available to you.

You can’t imagine the comfort it would bring me to find him a good home and not worry about him possibly being put down.
9B123F7A-39DC-4DF1-83F6-46C419E0087C.jpeg

Sort:  

Lovely pet I see there. I wish it get a new Home soon! I am far away from the zone, I would have taken him/ her in!

Guys I appreciate all the upvotes and the sentiment behind them, but what I really need at this point is resteems to get the message out to as many people as possible. It’s possible that one of your followers might live in my area or have a connection that does.

Hi @firststeps, I had no idea about your husband! I'm so very sorry for everything you've gone through and what you are continuing to go through, I would think. I know this post is 2 weeks old, but I'm just wondering if you found a home for this guy?

I'm originally from south of Windsor, just across the border from Detroit, and for some reason, you look so familiar to me too. I'm shocked and saddened to know that I've talked with you or at least know you from greetersguild and didn't know all of this.

I’m originally from PA but lived most of my life with my husband raising a family in Bronx, NY. We moved to Michigan in 2013 to be closer to our grandkids.

I still haven’t found a home for my cat. It’s rough cause I’ve had him since a little kitten and he’s always been my baby. He also represents the end of a legacy because my husband and I have had several black cats through our 36 years together.

Thank you for the empathy. It’s definitely been rough. I started having panic attacks for the first time in my life. I’m surrounded by a loving and supportive family but nothing is ever going to be the same. Truth is we often interact with people casually and have no idea what they might be going through. I’ve even prejudged people without really knowing anything about them. I’ve decided to fight that tendency and just extend a warm welcome or make room to know them better.

Honestly my experience on steemit has been helpful. It’s given me a voice to express my thoughts and work through my grief. Working with Greetersguild has given me a very worthy and productive distraction.

@firststeps, thank you for the reply. May I ask why you need to get rid of the cat? It sounds like a difficult thing to do, especially given the history with your husband and cats too. I'm not judging by any means by asking that either.

My husband has cancer and we are not expecting it to be cured, so to say "it's definitely been rough" I'm sure is an understatement and one that I can only anticipate. It's so easy to prejudge people, but yes, it's a good tendency to fight :) And interestingly enough, steemit has been very helpful for myself and my husband (@briancourteau) because we have both written about our 'plight' and the support we have received has been unbelievable and so much appreciated. I totally get how it's been a productive distraction.

My husband died suddenly and unexpectedly of a heart attack. But I can imagine knowing death might be around the corner is it’s own kind of terrible as well.

I am selling my home. Just too many memories and for now I can’t be alone. I will be staying with my adult children who can’t keep my cat for various reasons.

Yes, it is "it's own kind of terrible"; I'm not sure we can find the good in either, that's for sure.

I'm so sorry how you must be feeling though. You've been in my thoughts a lot lately; sending internet hugs your way <3

Thank you so much. I’m sending some your way as well.

I don’t want to give you any false hope but maybe these sights about alternative treatments could be helpful in some way. I certainly can’t vouch for them but they seem to be mostly nutrition based which might give you a little more time or a few more good days.

https://thetruthaboutcancer.com/category/cancer-treatments/

http://issels.com/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIjvm2qML_2wIVwkSGCh3tgwPMEAAYAyAAEgIGWvD_BwE

Thank you @firststeps! And I'll have a look at those links as well 😂

Aww pretty cat. I hope you find a home for him where persons get love him.

Thank you, but I had to drop him off at an animal shelter earlier this week.

The shelters animal in your country are secure?