Remembering Mom Through Food

in #philippineslast month

Last March 16th, marks the fourth anniversary of my mom's passing. We lost her in 2020, and her absence is still deeply felt. Every year on this day, our family gathers to share memories and celebrate her life.

After attending mass, we come together for a meal, a tradition that holds a special significance for me. As many of you know, I always take charge of the cooking on this day. This year, I made kilayin, a dish that my mom absolutely perfected.

C1238EF6-6053-4243-A18C-9D8A16A92F56.jpeg
Kilayin is the meaty dish in front I was too busy attending to guests couldn’t take a better angle here
The aroma of kilayin filling the air instantly brings back memories of my mom in the kitchen, working her magic. She had a special touch, and her kilayin was never short of delicious.

More than just a dish, this kilayin represents the love and care my mom poured into everything she did. Cooking it allows me to feel a connection to her, a way to keep her memory alive.

13380BD4-5423-4FE9-B795-D29A77CFFC00.jpeg
some fried chicken to add to the menu and a bringhe I cooked everything here really quickly
As we share this meal together, I know a part of mom is here with us. Through food and family, her spirit lives on.

40DFC35D-4625-4FE6-9855-E1C56CDD4266.jpeg
my sister prepared ensaladang pako and this pancit bihon