Me and Volcanoes: A Hashed Out Twitter Thread + Volcano True Story SBI Writing Contest!

in #philippines4 years ago (edited)

When I was in a provincial high school, we had an assignment about volcanoes. This was a time when the internet wasn't that developed yet so encyclopedias were the best things in the world.

Learned a lot about volcanoes, especially Vesuvius & Krakatoa.



My Volcano Story

Okay, so I have not had any scary encounter with any dangerous natural phenomenon (Thank GOD! 🙏 🙏 🙏) and I hope I never. Even so I still have my own volcano related story. Hehe.

As I was saying, I went to two libraries just to be able to write something. One of them was in another high school library where my mom worked. (She was a piano teacher for a time.) The other one, I don't remember anymore... I think it was in a provincial or municipal public library.

Hey, where else would a high school student back then find encyclopedias and do research except in the only place full of books-you-don't-need-to-buy! 😆 These days we just do an online search but I miss those days when we need to look up encyclopedias to learn more about anything in the world.

So anyway, wow I was happy to do research on a fascinating topic. It's one that I rarely think of too. Even as an adult I rarely have any thought about volcanoes or mountains.

If you say beach, ocean or rivers now that's more likely in my head most of the time. Hehe.

After I finished writing my short essay/article/research paper, I was of course pretty pleased at what I accomplished. I mean, it was the first time I had to do research in high school. Lol.



Seriously. It wasn't in any of our textbooks so of course I had to find out details from other books.

On the day of passing the assignment, I found out I was the only one who did it. Omg. 😱 The horror!


No one told me everyone didn't have anything to submit. I assumed they did until our teacher started giving a sermon because I was the only one who submitted an assignment. I mean WTF?!? WHYYY?!? I was talking to some classmates before that class started and nobody even thought to tell me? Huh. Or wait, it's not like I announced to the world that I was proud of my assignment. Come on, who does that? 😂

Oh to be in a position of feeling proud of my accomplishment but ashamed of "letting peers down".


That's all.

But wait there's more...

I'm sure it wasn't all bad for my classmates. We all got an earful even if I was the only one who submitted something. I also heard every word she said to them.


When you love learning about nature while most people don't

That my friends is why loving the researching, writing & sharing process can be a disadvantage sometimes.


Especially if you're in a place that aren't exposed to such behavior and people are just happy to live the daily simple (student) life.

I mean, if you like learning about interesting things in nature then you'd also be amazed at what you find out. You would naturally enjoy researching about topics you don't know about. You'll get that mindblowing feeling everytime you learn about all the fascinating things on our planet.

Ah but then again, it wasn't a science high school anyway. And most people aren't environmentalists too or have no appreciation of nature, even as children. Sad huh? (These days the youth are learning to appreciate it more because of social media. )

Eventually I started to conform with the rest of my classmates even up to graduation. Yeah I still did my best to be a group leader when needed and also study even when I was demotivated to excel. I was still on the honor roll and graduated w/ honors. 🤷 That's good enough for me.



And so I write...

These days everyone is free to write stuff after researching anything online and talking to people. Much better if one earns from it. Way better.

In June 2018 I got my first official article writing gig. Well, somehow it was not as fun as writing whatever you feel like writing and sharing to the world. Uhmmm. 🤔

I don't think I ever stopped writing anything online too. From online journals to write/post to earn sites, I'm there. I can write an ebook too, I'm sure! Heck I can even write a book if I could bring myself to finish a novel. Haha. I'll have to do that soon to remove it from my bucket list.

Perhaps I will open a Patreon account one day. Who knows? It's a great time to be alive now when we can do almost anything & get away with it.

m96kji.png

This post is an expanded version of my Twitter thread. Couldn't very well say a lot in each tweet so why not tell more on here, right? 😉


Related post : Volcanic Ash Fall, Health Hazards, Beauty & More from the Sudden Taal Volcano Eruption 👀




The Mini Writing Contest (Just For Fun 😊)

Anyway, how about you? Do you have any volcano related story? In case you do, write or make a video and post it here on Steemit. If I like it you'll win 1 SBI (Steem Basic Income)!!! 🎉 🎉 🎉

Who knows I might decide to give out MORE SBI as it deserves or if there are a lot of entries.

Rules:

  • Just make sure it is a true story.
  • If you can back it up with your own pictures/videos as proof that'd be great too.
  • Post must be in English or Filipino.
  • Comment your entry below.
  • Deadline is in 7 days before this post pays out.

Good luck!

XOXO,
@artgirl


fvfkvm.jpg


7iix34.jpg

Read Philippine Condo Buying FAQs Here

Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.

fzo8b444e7.jpg

Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent. My Steemit posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.
Contact me for your art, Writing/Research & Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

DeviantArt prints here.

One Opti Juice.png

One Opti Juice Order Form Here


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem/Share for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.587 which ranks you at #6371 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 117 contributions, your post is ranked at #67.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server