BEFORE I BECAME AN ENGINEER, I WAS JUST A VENDOR

in #philippines6 years ago

People say that I succeed because I had an easy college life focused on my studies. Well, they don’t know how rough it was. They don’t know that before I became a licensed engineer, I was once a vendor selling street foods such as fishball and tempura.

image.png
Source

I started to become a street vendor when I was grade 6. My products were hamburgers, waffles, and banana-cues made by my mom and sago’t gulaman and sometimes just simple juices that were made by me.

The small business continued until I was asked to sell fishballs and the like when I stopped my senior high school days. They gave me that responsibility when I chose to drop out of school because of the failed grade I got in Mathematics that was caused by computer addiction. Remember Counter Strike? the rise of Friendster? Hahaha.

Apparently, I continued my senior year and went to college for another 5 years. However, I was still often asked to take care of the business every after I came home. Despite of the busyness and the struggles in school, I thanked God that I still had strength those days to help my family business.

image.png
source

I want to share to you what products we were selling during those times.

  • Fishball
  • Tempura
  • Squid balls
  • Squid Rolls
  • Hamburger
  • Waffles
  • Banana-cue
  • Kolo-cue (What’s the English of this? Alemon? Hahaha)
  • Sago’t Gulaman
  • Halo-halo

Mind you, that was not an easy business. Many times, we came to the point of bankruptcy, lol, due to overburdened needed provisions, bills, and even due to the weather. “If it rains, it pours?” you said? No! If it rains it makes us poor. Hahaha.

By the way, have I mentioned I was also a working student during college? Yes, I was. Yet those challenges I experienced made me more focused on pursuing my dreams. Those motivated me to excel in studies which I did. Those encouraged me to be competitive in terms of quiz competitions and even brought honor to my alma mater.


The first quiz bowl success.

image.png

The last quiz bowl I participated.

image.png


Then came May 2014 when I managed to be an officially registered civil engineer and got the 2nd rank of that board exam. Praise God! After then, I became a full-time civil engineer instructor and had some sidelines like selling books and a part-time job as an associate of a very stable company based in United States. Also, I want to thank Sheila Unabia who invited me to join this platform. That first 24.827 SBD I got from my first post was really big for just having it in 7 days. Hahaha.

image.png
Source

image.png

We still have some of those businesses, though. It seems like mama doesn’t want to stop it. She keeps on saying that if she’ll stop, then our neighbors will copy our business. Hahaha.

This time, my brother and even my 11-year old sister, the youngest are helping our parents in taking care of the small business.

image.png

I am not saying I am already 100% successful though, but comparing the life we had to our life to date? I could say that this is better and I glorify God because of this.

Challenges in life are normal. Just don’t be discouraged to the state of life you are in now. Like what I’ve heard from a successful man who talked in an event I attended, “No struggles, no success”. What matters most is that we persisted and did not stop despite of the waves and storms of challenges we encountered in this rough life.

image.png

I know I’m not the only one who also had a rough life. Maybe some had even worse. Is that you? Would you share to us as well how you managed to overcome the trials you had in your life? I would love to hear it.

Sort:  

Very inspiring!
Steem ON!

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

A very inspiring story, some people just dont know how hard it is to continue your studies while your parents just cant afford the school fees.

That' s what we called perseverance and hard work. Salute to you @fojrance. We're proud and happy for you! Good luck to your endeavor.
Cheers to your journey on Steemit.

Welcome!

Much love and respect
@gerel

This is very inspiring. I was also a working student during college, and life was not easy. I only have 4 hrs at most of sleep. Looking back it's hard to think how I was able to manage everything. But the hardships we experienced only made our success sweeter, right? ☺

Btw, congrats on passing the board, and rank 2??? Wow!!!😃

To God be the glory 😇

Thank you for the inspiration! I really love reading these kind of stuff. More success in life po.

thanks po. same to u po

I was teary eyed reading this. You made it!!!! Every success are much more sweeter if you strived hard to achieve it! I salute you Sir!!! You’re an inspiration! BTW, we had this business also during my elementary years but my parents stopped. 😊😊

wow! thanks miss! Im following you know to read more of your stories :)

Salamat Sir! gi follow pud tika. :)

Perhaps, I should also share my detailed story as a young fisherman turning into an engineer. This story of yours is definitely inspirational - we never know what will happen and our current status will never do anything with our future. Keep inspiring the young minds, master!

I'm excited toread it master. e.share jud nako. hehjehe

Wow! You're truly an amazing person with a good heart sir! My story wasn't as good as yours so I better not state it. hahaha. Anyways, thank you sir @fojrance for sharing this to us. God bless you!

everyone has a very inspiring experience to share nik and Im excited to know yours! hehehe

Mine's not quite interesting at all 😂 but you'll surely know it soon sir 😂

yehey

but promise me one thing sir, don't laugh. and i mean it. my story is quite hilarious tbh.

i won't nik. hahaha

Wooooow a very inspiring story serrr! I believe those struggles will propel us to reach the greater heights. Continue aiming high ser!

yes I will shei, hahaha. I can feel success here in steemit. hahaha

you will be successful ser! bring your students na hahahaha hala basin magsige nato silag steemit, dli na magtuon hahah

You have a really inspiring story. I too have my stories in life. What's not surprising is the perseverance you maintain through the years in order to succeed in life and sure enough, they have madebyou who you are.

Thanks for sharing your story to the community. Its really inspiring

I would love to know about your story sir. Now Im following you to be updated of your post. thanks :)

Lol. Its going to take a lot of courage for me to post my story. But its going to come out soon.

Im excited for it sir :)

woooooow..... what a great journey @fojrance ..you deserve all the blessings that u have right now

Salut!

thanks sir!

a vendor is not just a vendor :)