Work StorYnia: Doing Things Your Way, Everyday!

in #philippines6 years ago

I've always been that person who does everything alone. Assignments, projects and sometimes even in group activities, I prefer doing it by myself. Working alone in a group activity sounds ironic and unfair but that's how I usually want everything to be done. Alone.

alone_peace_4k.jpg
Source: hdwallpapers.in

When you do it by yourself, you give yourself an accountability. In my case, I tend to be more cautious with everything when I know it's just going to be me to be blamed when something fails. It gives me a sense of responsibility when I know that I can't rely to someone but me in finishing a task. Up until now, I still prefer doing my tasks alone because I get things done easily when I'm not waiting for someone to finish his/her tasks.

I call myself a procrastinator. Not because I delay things that need to be done but because I do them instantly. Is it really procrastination? Well, I read in an article that when you do something so immediate just so you won't to do things later may also mean you're procrastinating. You want to do things so fast because you want to chill right after you accomplish them, resulting to a "non-quality" product. Unfortunately, this is me.

I like being ahead of everyone. I like watching people do the things I already finished doing. I don't know, maybe it's some kind of disorder --- but it actually helps me. I worked on doing things fast but in good performance and I kinda nailed it. I was given the chance to work alone in my newest job and I was able to finish 2 weeks worth of tasks! Imagine how productive that is! And it feels really good!

Although I can still work with a team, I sometimes feel like I'm not giving my best when I do things with different people. It just doesn't feel right, at least for me. I guess when you know yourself well, you would know how to be productive. When you know your rhythm, you would know how to work more efficient. And that's the secret that is revealed when you know yourself a little better.