5 DISHES TO TRY WHEN YOU VISIT THE PHILIPPINES

in #philippines5 years ago (edited)

Pinoy foods.png

I've been to the Philippines several times and funnily enough, a lot of my readers are from the Philippines - this wasn't planned, and happened naturally so, it's only natural that I want to share my experiences of my visits. I write a lot about food, mainly gravitating towards recipes, but I also like to share my thoughts and views on the tasty - and - not so tasty things I have eaten.

The Philippines is known for its interesting cuisine, both traditional and street food. I've tried and loved both types and I'd like to share my list of foods you should try when you visit the Philippines.

🔸Sisig

Sisig is one of those dishes that is common amongst people who are drinking and usually served as "pulutan" (Something you eat whilst drinking). It's made from parts of a pigs head, usually the ears, cheeks, and nose, coupled with the liver and pork belly. These parts are boiled and then chopped into small pieces and then fried. Chopped chillies and onions are also added to make it spicy and a great accompaniment to any drinking session!

🔸Lechon

Lechon is one of those things you would have at a celebration and is something to share with the whole family. Lechon is a roasted suckling pig and everything is used. I purchased one of these for my sons first birthday and the parts that weren't eaten were turned into sisig. Nothing was wasted! The skin is one of the most prized parts and guests of honour are usually presented with the first piece.

🔸Balut

This snack is one that's often featured in a lot of "insert country here" tries videos, and is usually met with mixed feelings. I, personally, didn't like it but I can appreciate why people might. In essence, this is a boiled egg complete with a developing duck embryo and feathers, lots of feathers. It's eaten directly from the egg and usually served with vinegar.

🔸Sinigang

This is a personal favourite of mine, and I often cook it in our household. Sinigang is a sour and savoury soup dish made with tamarind - to give it the sour taste. It's traditionally made with pork, but other varieties exist. Other ingredients include; onions, garlic, radish, green beans, water spinach (kang kong), okra and chillies. I'll be uploading my recipe for this dish soon.

🔸Adobo

My list wouldn't be complete without this dish as it's one of the most popular dishes in the Philippines. Adobo is essentially a cooking process which involves marinading meat and/or vegetables in a garlic, vinegar and soy sauce. The meat is then fried in oil and then simmered in the marinade creating a flavour-some and hearty dish.

That concludes my list. What do you think about it? Do you feel that I missed anything out? I'd love to hear about some of the dishes you would recommend we try!

I am the creator of this content and links to my Steemit account (This one) can be found on the origin of this material. (Sweet Elyse Blog)

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.sweetelyseblog.com/2018/10/5-foods-to-try-when-you-visit.html

Congratulations @sweetelyse! You received a personal award!

Steemcleaners Verified Profile

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Congratulations @sweetelyse! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!