Silence Doesn't Signify Weakness

in #philosophy7 years ago

I think one of the biggest mistakes people make is thinking that the quiet person is a weaker person. Which is totally wrong. Silence is one of the biggest misconceptions of weakness


birdcraig.jpg

The "Fat guy" or "Tall guy" misconception.

One of the things that people make misconceptions about is that "fat" or "tall" guys are strong and nobody wants to mess with them, when in reality, their strength is all an illusion. I am personally smaller than a lot of those "fat" or "tall" people, yet I am still stronger than them. It is all an illusion, kind of like how quiet person who keeps to themselves is labeled as weak, as a loud and vocally expressed person is more powerful. But it is the silent person that is the smarter one. They observe their surroundings and since they are typically quieter, they have more time to think to themselves and they are typically the smarter ones you don't want to mess with.

18835636_1949471845284660_1216268338759647921_n.jpg

The loud ones are all bark no bite

All of those loud people who find it necessary to always voice themselves because they are insecure are all bark and no bite. They give an illusion of power to patch their true weakness. So they are what you would call a "fake".

0964b265b71e8a58a17fcc95346ae77f.jpg

Silence is power

Never mistake silence for weakness. Ever. You don't know what the person next to you is thinking. Never underestimate. The most power can come from the most unexpected places, remember that. Expect the unexpected.

Funniest-Fail-GIFs-4.gif

Sort:  

Im myself also a silent person and on top of that very short.... when people see me, they think im arrogant, spoilt and just not really smart....some people really say that. i actually always worked hard to buy myself anything i want, dont hv rich parents and studied hard. And im actually not arrogant at all, i never look down to people who have less than me. its a pity that people can judge or make conclusions others by just simply looking at you or how you are dressed..... "oh you are wearing make up and love fashion?" You must be stupid. Its sad, but it says more about that person than me.

I like that, especially knowing from experience, how true it is. I have had many people in my life that have asked why I am so quiet. My usual response is "nothing is wrong, I'm just thinking". Then other times I tell them "it's the quiet ones ya gotta watch for". We tend to hold things in (sometimes for too long) and rarely talk about personal things. It took me many years to speak up sooner when time was necessary. People are too critical of others. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Silence is golden. Quick fix for those who won't shut up is silver.
silver.jpg

lol rope is also an option

ha ha ha ! :-D

that's right. i can relate to the short person theory. i am shorter than all of my friend, and i am way too faster than them. Being fast is a strength, right?

being fast is a strength

:)

@OriginalWorks

This is true....those who have strength dont need to talk about their accomplishments or make threats. Silence is power.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alex-icey to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

The laud does nt mean correct or reasonable...a wisdom people dont need to hv laudspeaker, his small voice can reach to every one...often talking donot recognise correctnes,what is talking is important thn how much time it is talked...

@upped my boi

Silence is before the storm. :)

I am myself also a quiet person but on top of that very tall and healthly.

Video divertido .graciosa foto

That's right. It'just an illusion.

Please take time to read my recent post. Your upvote will highly appreciated. Thank you.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@athenabree08/temptation-in-poetry

That's right.

You are absolutely right

I agree with you... Very good post and much needed in our society that lives on myths and stereotypes. Yes you are correct - "Silernce is Power".... Upvoted and followed
Sometime back I too wrote an essay on silence.

My interpretation of Silence. :) I hope you do not mind my sharing it here.
https://steemit.com/quotes/@nehab/silence-is-never-silent-strangely-silence-is-a-powerful-weapon-of-expression

It is abot perception and we cant stop it. None of us could avoid it, our mind is full of perception. Very nice post!

I don't quite agree there, silence is a tool, just as words, looks, smiles or even gestures are tools, the way you use it defines whether it is a power or not, and just as many misuse words, many misuse silence.

Silence is golden

It is interesting to me how some people have a noticeable aversion to silence. Whenever there is a break in the conversation they have a need to fill it with some comment. The same can be said for having a constant noise around like a TV or music going. I have found that I need to spend a little time in silence just to keep myself grounded. Thanks for the post.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.