Thoughts on Ash Wednesday / Gedanken zu Aschermittwoch

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
Hello dear people,

It's that time again, in the Western Christian World today is celebrated to the max the Fat Tuesday, because from tomorrow onwards, the Lent begins with the Ash Wednesday.

I do not want to write about Carnival Monday or Shrove(Fat) Tuesday or what's going on there, I'm too old for it now and it's not fun anymore. When you are young you should treat yourself at least once with this. I'm of the opinion that for all in once life there is a right time for it and one should use it. I think also that we are free to do what we want and for that I will not look at anyone or condemn someonewho enjoys his life this way but on the contrary, I am glad that we are all different.

I come from a region where the Christian Church divides into two, the Western and the Eastern, and as you can guess, I am a hybrid of the two. Do not be strict believers and see the teachings of the Bible as an advice to a rational and normal life. Many things are outdated anyway, as are the two other Abrahamic religions that are very close to each other, Judaism and Islamism. The best example of this is the barbaric custom of circumcision. Yes, a few years ago it made sense because they did not pay attention to hygiene. Now there is soap so you could remove that from religion.

Ash Wednesday used to be like New Year's Eve, you have always had good conditions to become a better person. It was a purification of the soul. Carnival also means giving up meat - carne levare. People have always taken everything to literally. Here the purpose is more to forego the material and to concentrate on the soul and the essentials. It should be something normal to give up things that harm us and the 40 days should help us introduce it as a custom because doing something for over 30 days will make it a habit and will also make it easier to do it.

The symbol of the ashes also shows us that we all end up as ashes. That should give us some thought. I will fast, but I will not give up meat. Like every human being, I have my own vices to remove. The choice is great in me, so I have no worries that I will not find anything but on the contrary, I shall start with the recognition of my vices which harms me the most I should and start with. I did that but will not write it here to have it stored on the Blockchain.

How do you see that? Do you see Ash Wednesday as an approach to self-improvement? Or do you take it literally and strictly follow it from the religious side?

Hallo liebe Leute,

es ist wieder soweit, in der westlichen Christlichen Welt heute wird gefeiert so stark wie es geht, weil ab morgen die Fastenzeit beginnt durch den Aschermittwoch.

Ich möchte heute nicht über Rosenmontag oder Fastnachtsdienstag schreiben oder was da abgeht, bin jetzt zu alt dafür und mir macht es kein Spaß mehr. Wenn man jung ist sollte sich man dieses Spaß unbedingt gönnen. Bin der Meinung das man für alles in einem Leben ein richtiger Zeitpunkt ist und den nützen soll, aber bin der Meinung auch das wir frei sind zu machen was wir wollen und dafür werde ich niemanden böse ankucken oder verurteilen der das Leben auf diese Art und Weise genießt, sondern ganz im Gegenteil, bin froh das wir alle verschieden sind.

Ich komme aus einer Region wo sich die Christliche Kirche in zwei teilt, die Westliche und die Östliche und wie ihr auch ahnen könnt bin ein Mischling von den beiden. Bin nicht strenggläubig und sehe die Lehren der Bibel als Einleitung für ein vernünftiges Leben. Viele Sachen sind sowieso nicht mehr zeitgemäß, wie auch bei den zwei anderen Abraham-ischen Religionen die sehr nah zueinander sind, Judaismus und Islamismus. Bester Beispiel dazu ist dieses barbarische Brauch des Beschnitten. Ja, vor ein paar Jahren hatte es Sinn gemacht weil man hat nicht auf die Hygiene geachtet. Jetzt gibt es Seife also konnte man das von der Religion entfernen.

Aschermittwoch war früher wie Silvester, man hat sich immer gute Voraussetzungen gestellt um eine bessere Person zu werden. Es war eine Purifikation der Seele. Auch Karneval bedeutet Verzicht auf Fleisch - carne levare. Die Menschen habe immer alles viel zu Wort wörtlich genommen. Hier ist der Sinn mehr auf das Materielle zu verzichten und sich auf die Seele und das Wesentliche zu konzentrieren. Es sollte eigentlich etwas normales sein auf Sachen die uns schaden zu verzichten und die 40 Tage sollten uns helfen das als Brauch einzuführen, weil man etwas für über 30 Tage macht, wird es zum Gewohnheit und wird auch leichter fallen es zu machen.

Auch das Symbol der Asche zeigt uns dar wir alle zur Asche am Ende werden. Das sollte uns Gedanken machen. Ich werde fasten, aber werde nicht auf Fleisch verzichten. Wie jeder Mensch habe ich meine eigene Laster die ich entfernen möchte. Die Auswahl ist groß bei mir, also habe ich keine Sorgen das ich nichts finden werde sondern im Gegenteil, welches meine Laster mir am meisten schadet sollte ich erkennen und damit starten. Das habe ich auch gemacht aber werde es hier nicht schreiben um es auf der Blockchain zu verewigen.

Wie sieht ihr das? Seht ihr Aschermittwoch als Ansatz zur eigener Verbesserung? Oder nimmt ihr das Wort wörtlich an und verfolgt es streng von der Religiösen Seite?

20180113_180335.jpg

One of the things I will reduce, to enjoy more - or less is more / Einer der Sachen wo ich die Frequenz verringern werde, um es mehr zu genießen - oder weniger ist mehr


discord.gif

Sort:  

Not everyone has that custom.
In my family, for example, we have always fulfilled it, starting on Wednesday and coughing on Fridays until the end of Lent. Since I was a child I thought it was a punishment, but now I see it as a way of respecting in some way what happened to the son of God during those 40 days.
For some it is time to party but for others it is a time of reconciliation with God.

For me ash wednesday symbolizes Second chance. In my country(Philippines ) Millions of people go to church to get our forehead get cross with ashes to symbolize that we are truly sorry for our sins or also called repentance. TRUE REPENTANCE COMES WITH HOW SINCERE WE ARE TO THE LORD. Cut those things you love to do and FAST. :') Happy Valentinesday I hope you can visit my blog. Thankyou :')

Some things are literal, other only symbolic. My point is not to get out of context. Things change over time, but the fundamental laws remain the same. In my opinion.

Danke @alexvan für diese wirklich sehr interessante Erzählung. Jetzt weiss ich auch endlich, was Carneval bedeutet ;-). Ich bin katholisch aufgewachsen und obwohl meine Grossmutter streng gläubisch war, durfen wir unsere eigene Meinung über die Religion haben. Zu Hause haben wir einfach kein Fleisch gegessen, aber die Fastenzeit wurde nie thematisiert. Der Unterricht damals war für uns nicht mehr zeitgemäss und wenn man Fragen stellte, hiess es von den Nonnen, ist einfach so, basta! Heute lebe ich mit meiner Familie in Bali und muss ehrlich zugeben, dass ich die Fastenzeit vergessen habe. Liebe Grüsse

Thanks for this reflection. I grew up very Catholic. I don't practice Catholicism any more, but I consider myself a cultural Catholic. Growing up in a very ritualized religion leaves you with meanings that simply cannot be easily found or expressed elsewhere.

I have struggled to find a new way to celebrate Ash Wednesday and Lent for quite some time. I enjoy meditating on my eventual return to the Earth, but I don't feel that sacrifice is the way that I want to mark this meditation.

For New Years, to which you draw a parallel, I tend to simply review my goals and either renew or discontinue my commitments to them. Since New Years just happened, it doesn't feel like it is time to review again.

People, especially those that grew up with ritual, need these regular rites of passage. It is very challenging when you are in between traditions, as I am.

Peaceful Lent to you!

Very useful, thank you for sharing with us.

See my post and vote my last 3 post and I will upvote you 100% in one hour.... No reply

This is wrong, please stop this as you compromise your account. One of the things I wrote in this post is not report directly spammers, but to try to show them their wrong doing and to help them.

If you want to have a better life on steemit, try to leave comments related to the post. That is the best piece of advice I can give you.

very worlable and informative post dare!! i appreciate your post. sharing

ich finds an sich immer ganz gut, wenn man ab und zu etwas fastet. einfach um es bewusster zu erleben oder es nicht "zu brauchen". musst jetzt nicht unbedingt am aschermittwoch sein, ist aber natürlich ne ganz gute erinnerung :)