You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Answer is Always the Same: Personal Responsibility

in #philosophy4 years ago (edited)

Don't drink Tom's kool-aid buddy:) We know practically nothing about consciousness and to say it's evolving is stupidly dishonest. Evolution is a biological survival mechanism called natural selection. Nothing more in my opinion. To say that the universe was evolving prior to the onset of biological life systems is even problematic.
I get that simulation is interesting but I don't see the justification for taking ot too literally as a metaphysics.
Crypto? There is an absurd contradiction built into it right from the getgo because those who arbitrarily get to create money gain all the power from being able to do so...

Sort:  

BTW: to transfer the biological selection process of species survival onto human economics will prove to be one of the dumbest things humanity has ever done and this error will likely destroy us all...Ironic reversal.

Would you describe memes as going through an evolutionary process? Richard Dawkins seemed to think so, right?

Well, Dawkins would likely chuckle at Tom's new religious grand narrative. Do cultures, economics, and political ideas change and develop over time? Yes! Are they linear in a grand Hegelian sense? Absolutely not! Natural selection attempts to allow species a place to survive in equilibrium within confined eco-niches. It doesn't colonize the whole earth via economic predation. That is not natural selection but something else entirely.
And there is nothing at all to suggest that the consciousness of a five-year-old is any different today than it was 5000-years ago. The inputs and outputs though are now embedded within technology advancement.
More on crypto: if I could sit in an office and code money into existence I'd talk about decentralization all day long, too...The only difference between me and the 1% here is that I'd be honest enough to say I was full of shit if anyone asked about my intentions sincerely.
On Sun (the demiurge) : you guys were not willing to give him the benefit of the doubt that he might make things better than the morons who created this site. Now, maybe you were right in that regard but from my perch, you were also woefully lacking in your assessment of the owners of this site.
Having said that, you are one of the better actors in the top of the pyramid here and that isn't snark:)

Have you read his My Big TOE series? I listened to it twice and find his arguments compelling. "Evolution" of consciousness is clearly not exactly analogous to physical matter evolution, but the similarities are strong enough to make it useful within the framework he outlines, IMO. When I look into things like the quantum entangled delayed double split experiment, I have to step back from hard materialistic determinism (though I am a fan) and consider other possible explanations.

I'm familiar with his oeuvre and find it an attempt at exploring metaphysical ideas that he then wrongfully turns into a grand religious narrative.
Read Wilber's Quantum Questions if you haven't already and no quantum physicist who understands it well ( I certainly don"t ) don't subscribe to grand religious narratives about it.
Musing playfully on ideas is certainly something I'm in total favor of but Tom crossed the line into religion and that is simply not justified.

I listened to his book twice, and it's not religion.

You might not be aware of the online cult following that is now springing up around his theories.

I have nothing to do with an online cult following or with religion.

I didn't think you did for one minute. But what I said about what's developing around Tom's theories is happening. That might not be his fault.
The same thing happened with Wilber's TOE in that it became cultishly religious...
Please understand that I'm not being antagonistic to you...I hope it doesn't come across that way. I like some of Tom's ideas. But it doesn't go much further than that for me.
Please keep in mind that I'm an old geezer luddite, too. So my perspective on things might be different than yours.