Lessons from READING IN THE PARK #1 Actions Speak Louder than Words, but Sometimes you Need Both

in #philosophy7 years ago

A little while ago I posted several articles on an event "Reading In The Park" and wanted to take the time now to go over several lessons that can be taken away from this series.

#1: Sometimes Actions speak louder than Words, but sometimes you really need to Use Both.

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2015/07/27/20/16/book-863418_960_720.jpgsource

There was a woman standing over me with a scowl on her face, hands on her hips, and foot just a tapping. Before I could say a word, she says to me, "You know, you really should burn that book!" I looked up at her, then down at my book, completely dumbfounded that anyone should even suggest burning a book much less the John Steinbeck I was reading. When I looked at her again I realized two things, 1) she had totally misread the look on my face, and 2) this was a teaching opportunity I could not pass up. What I really wanted to do was curse this woman and her stupidity, what I did, I think, was much better.

When I failed to immediately respond to the woman she mistook my silence for compliance. If I had decided to not engage with the woman, then I could have made a statement right then and cut the conversation from the very beginning. But, by not engaging immediately I was able to take stock of the situation and get the other person to engage with me.

I grabbed a spare blanket, invited her to sit with me, then putting my book away said, "If you think this book is bad you should check out this one." I pulled out another paperback book, this one covered in brown paper least I should offend anyone while reading it. She was intrigued and curious as I explained that this book contained all sorts of stuff far worse than anything Steinbeck ever wrote.

Perhaps by not jumping into the situation, and by combining actions with words, I was able to instill a seed of interest in the woman. Maybe next time she will take a moment to contemplate the book before condemning it.

Interested in reading the full article? Click HERE


Books contain knowledge and knowledge is power, so go read a book!

-@apothecae



logo posts rep followers

Sort:  

Congratulations @apothecae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!