Stoic Philosophy Practice: The Reserve Clause Exercise

in #philosophy6 years ago

The Reserve Clause Exercise:

The Stoics employed a psychological strategy (hupexhairesis) that allowed them to interact with external events, including other people, without compromising their principle of only choosing to seek what is within their sphere of control.

They refer to action being undertaken ‘with a reserve clause’, meaning that a caveat is added such as ‘fate permitting’, ‘God willing’ or ‘if nothing prevents me’. It resembles the saying: ‘Do what you must; let happen what may’.

I cannot rationally demand that my actions must be successful in terms of their intended outcome, so I embark on every journey with an open mind, prepared to accept either victory or defeat with total equanimity.

All actions are therefore to be undertaken with the complete acceptance of the fact that the outcome may not turn out as planned. For this exercise, pick a task to undertake with the ‘reserve clause’ in mind.

"Everything that happens, happens as it should and if you observe carefully, yo will find this to be so."
-Marcus Aurelius

Focus on your intention to act with integrity, and then follow these steps:
Plan something that you’re going to do later today, with regard to external events.
Try to imagine the various obstacles that could get in your way and willingly accept that things could go against your wishes.

Rehearse saying to yourself, ‘I will do such-and-such’, adding the caveat, ‘if nothing prevents me' or ‘fate permitting’.

Discuss how you found this exercise, noting any possible benefits. Choose a quote from Marcus Aurelius or Seneca that captures the spirit of this exercise.

"Make the best use of what is in your power, and take the rest as it happens."
-Epictetus

The Reserve Clause Exercise

This exercise is something i've been doing for over a year without knowing that it was a stoic exercise. When I first moved to Victoria I planned to live with my grandparents for only a short time, but ended up being there way longer then i intended and began getting quite depressed that i couldn't find my own place. I wanted the perfect place; location, sunlight, music, price etc. And after 4 months of looking I had a friend tell me that i should change the way i'm approaching it. He told me to pick a few things i wanted in a place and to write them down. He then told me to stop saying "its all good" and start start saying "it's all right". Not everything is good, but everything is as it should be. So when iI had my list he told me to to approach it not as.. "I want.." but as, "If I had it my way it would be..." This really helped me because i didn't limit my self or place these traps that will later upset me. It was more like defining how how id like to see things go.

"Let man see, let them know, a real man who lives as he was meant to live"
-Marcus

https://steemit.com/@brado

Thank you for the tips resteems and upvotes, every bit helps to spread virtue and philosophy!!

Sort:  

Hey Id be curious to see your replies to some of these!
-cheers

@in2itiveart @fingersik