You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Experiment: Who Are You Really?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I think the misconception happens because of the popularity of the mainstream teachers. The ones I respect plainly say (and said) that there is no difference between them and us, and that self-realization doesn't offer an advantage in life. But their popularity makes it seem like it's their self-realization that got them popular. So people who want to be like them seek self-realization and continue seeking without end since it doesn't get them the results they want.

Sort:  

Agreed, @chrisrice. Ego can very quickly derail a spiritual practise... be it 'oh look at me and how long I can sit quuetly on a cushion' to 'that person in my yoga class does not look as flexible as me. I must get more flexible to be a better yogi'.

Very very true, there is a cost to all things