Intro and State of the World We Live In

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! This is my first post on steemit and I'm really just trying to learn the ends and outs. But thought I should start with a brief personal introduction followed by a recent experience that has led me to further question many things.

I am a male in my mid 20's. I grew up in Atlanta,Georgia but have been living in South Florida for the past 5 years. I went to college to study Biology and was pre-med but decided against going to medical school. I currently work in ship yards and marinas refinishing yachts. I have a passion for learning and love science( especially biology and chemistry), history, technology, and language. I currently speak 3 languages and I'm eager to learn a few more before I get old. I also am extremely interested in computer programming and intend on learning how to code and build software/apps.

Miami-Skyline-e1445369991262-1.jpg

Another things you could say about me is that I am a "truther" (I guess thats what they call it these days). If you dont know what that means then I will try my best to elaborate. When I say "truther" I mean that I am someone who questions everything, especially when it comes to mainstream ways of thinking. Religion, politics, media, history, and organizations all have agendas that must be questioned and researched in order for someone to be truely informed and reach their own conclusions. I wont go into my personal beliefs at this time. As I post more and more on steemit I think you will be able to see clearly what I mean by all this. But thats enough about me for the time being.

customLogo.png

I experienced something about a week ago that really affected me in many ways and made me question the little bit of faith I have left in humanity and the world we live in. Last Saturday night I got a call from a friend to come hangout at his house. So I got ready and left my apartment around 9:30 p.m. I decided to stop at a convience store about 4 blocks away from where I live. It was a surisingly chilly night for South Florida and i had turned my heat on. I pull up to the store and park in one of the very front spaces. I decided to leave my car running while I went inside in order for my heater to warm up. I thought nothing if it since this is something i had done previously and only planned on beingg in the store for a couple of minutes at most. I got what I needed, checked out with the cashier, and proceeded outside to get back in my car. But as I exited the building and looked in the direction of where I had parked...my car was no where to be found. I immediately called the police and filed a stolen car report. It has been a week now and I still have heard no news from the cops about my situation. This has really hurt me financially and spiritually. Money is really tight and I cant afford a new car at the moment. So this incident has really brought me down and made life a whole lot more difficult for me.

Car-Theft.jpg

This brings me to my conclusion. I was brought up in a good home with parents who loved me and taught me to be a stand up guy. They instilled in me a sense of morality and love for all my fellow human beings. Trust, honesty, integrity, and an attitude of working hard to acheive and attain the things you want in life.

20180113_010308.jpg

But I believe all this is a thing of the past. Now people will decide randomly one day to go out and committ mass murder. You can never trust anyone that you don't know. Rob, steal, and hurt people as long as you get what you want out of them seems to be what humanity has become. I have lost my positive outlook on the world and I just wanted to put my story out there in hopes it would spark conversation. There is still a peice of me that thinks we can turn this world into a better place. But it will take a lot of work and a lot of love.

evil-word-cloud.jpg

I live by the golden rule: "do unto others as you would have them do unto you." Be the change you want to see in the world.
Peace, love, and blessings to all.