What do you want to do?

in #philosophy4 years ago (edited)

What do you want to do? We often ask each other, ourselves.

Well, I never really had an answer to this question in terms of doing something in particular. So they ask: "what do you want to become? What do you want to be doing in the long term?"

There are many things I can imagine myself becoming. Yet no matter how exciting that image might be. I find myself not sure I can have the lifestyle I want by pursuing this or that "becoming".

The doing involved in that becoming is not really what I want to be doing.

What I really want to do? I want to live, nothing more, nothing less.

At the end of 2017 when I decided to start living the life I want for myself, I aimed at becoming location independent. No further specification, just location independent. And I made it quite fast! It's been now two years that I have this nomad/ unsettled lifestyle I was aiming for but I still find myself stuck somehow. I still don't really know what I want to do in terms of making a living financially in the long term.

And while I was searching for - or waiting to find - what I really want to do, I found something way more valuable through the VERY gradual daily implementation of the pieces of life I wanted to live.

My best days?

The days I wake up worried about nothing.

My morning routine?

I always start by touching water (washing myself, drinking), then I roll out my mat, I practice (comme je peux) gratitude, mindfulness in the breath, in the body and the mind, I prepare my breakfast and eat it as mindfully as possible (trying to not be scrolling down my phone or lost in my mind).

After this routine, my day depends on the day…

...but it's always a good day ! Why?

First of all, because there is no such thing as good or bad.

There is no good without bad and no bad without good. It's time we drop our excessive attachment to the Good.

The bad days are obviously teachers of gratitude for the better days and they are teachers of improvement for those who look for self-improvement.

Ultimately, what makes a good day good is what we do with that day.

Did we accomplish a task towards our goal?
Did we help someone?
Did we prepare a tasty or healthy food?
Did we share a meaningful moment with someone?

Now I leave you with this quote from a story shared by John Fitch - an amazing guy I met in Mykonos & follow since on IG:

      " To guarantee you have a good day: Do good things.

 Any other form of joy is outside your control or is nonrenewable.

 But this one is all you, all the time, and unending.

 It is the ultimate form of self-reliance."

What do I want to do?

Live ... my best day EVERY DAY.


Sincerely yours,

Nad

PS: I'm still learning to post and do things in a better way. I didn't manage to flip the picture this time but I'll do better in the future with a bit more practice. For now I still have other time constraints and responsibilities to take care of.

IMG_6097.JPG

Sort:  

Looks like I finally caught one of your posts this time. Welcome back!

Heyyyy !! YES I made it back finally !! Hahaha I got so excited seeing your comment ^^ This time I'm here with a clearer picture on what I'm here to share, and how to serve. Thank you so much for your support, I will never forget it <3

A minimalist lifestyle is very intriguing to me. I threw out my bed one year ago and now sleep on a mat on the floor. There is something rebellious about using our willpower to live our life in a way that we know is better, yet takes some inner-strength to accomplish. Very nice post.

Thank you for sharing your inspiring story. I hope to become as minimalist as possible. And true there is a dangerous degree of freedom when we start living life on our own terms. May the strength be with us on this path

cute and i like making people smile and drive

Congratulations @cryptopodium! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!