You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Truth is a liar's invention." A Reading for happy Skepticism.

in #philosophy4 years ago (edited)

That our society does not value the healthy is nothing I could not think otherwise. I could also say that the healthy don't value themselves, that's why they want to be sick, right? But where is the dividing line between healthy and sick? At what point does someone become so ill that he or she experiences a care for himself or herself in a unambiguous way through those who care for him or her? If I said, "I am healthy and you are sick," does that not arouse your resistance? Because in what way would I mean this sentence? Am I healthy on the whole and you sick on the whole? Besides: What does health mean at all? What illness?

It is difficult and I don't think it is possible to have a dialogue between the two of us in which the personal is left out and "society" takes its place. So when you say that you think that society doesn't care enough about the healthy, then this triggers the following assumption in me: That you think society doesn't take enough care of you. But what does the placeholder stand for? But for your living experiences, in which you consciously or unconsciously think of those who could be meant by it.

So it seems to me that in principle you affirm what you deny, "only the sick person receives attention", by saying: " from this it follows that the healthy person receives none". I say this intentionally a little extreme:)

Right now I am giving you my attention. At the same time, of course, I am also giving attention to myself, stimulated by what you said. But how do we both talk to each other so that we find confirmation in each other? In terms of the fact that I - a stranger - from now on represent a part of a society and you represent it for me. How can we both assume from each other that we care what one or the other says, feels and thinks?

Do I really talk to you and you to me? Is this doubt something that confuses and triggers feelings that are unloved? Can one embrace them instead?

Sort:  

That you think society doesn't take enough care of you. But what does the placeholder stand for? But for your living experiences, in which you consciously or unconsciously think of those who could be meant by it.

Certainly, for there is no real "society" except by our own making. Our own personal universe is within our mind, and only what we have experience with (directly or indirectly) can influence our universe.

I was recently fretting over the reaction I thought someone would have to something I needed to tell them. I was anxious and worried and became consumed with what I thought they would think. But, I was finally able to step back and realize that these thoughts I was having were really my own reactions to deep fears or patters of thought that had become habit from my own past experiences. The other person had done nothing and I was simply projecting my universe on to them, making them the placeholder for my own feelings. 🌱