You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is It Really Worth It? Philosophical Thoughts on Difficult and Complex Tasks

in #philosophy10 months ago

That is also a big issue in academia. People read the abstract, maybe the into, and the conclusion. The rest go unread. We produce so much and so little of it is actually read. Such a shame but it attests to the fact that no one reads these days!

Sort:  

Very worrying indeed. But understandable and at times we get messages on the phone in the new English that we don't understand a word of it. Especially the youngsters, as they have thrown spelling into the bin, and it all looks like shorthand stuff. So, the new norm is to take the shortest way out. What still to read? Way beyond them.

It really is, and I should not even start with this, as I will write you a whole essay on my experience of students either not touching the reading list, or students who provide me essays with so many spelling errors which just shows their lack of care as well. Such a shame. On the one hand, I really want to work with students and help them excel in academia, but on the other hand, I am very sad about the prospects of our youth.

Oh yes, and at times I also see the mistakes as Marian works off a set Rubric and one can quickly pick up who are flyers by night, and the ones that really try their best.
A study was published not so long ago, and it found that, I cannot remember the exact figure, but I think that it was between 50 and 80%, of standard 4 children couldn't read for meaning.
Really some big problems for the future of this country.

And it is such a shame, as I am sure you know, it is just our education system that lets these youths down. I will always remember the story of the boy with the artistic abilities you told me about when we went to the organization that afternoon. It takes minimal effort to see that a child needs more exposure to this or that and they will flourish. The education system with a one size fits all is broken to its core.

In the process now of putting together, and already have two great guys that are interested.
The idea is to start a holistic mentorship for young guys in group settings.
Papillon's chairlady has already started one for schoolgirls. I suppose that you know that 80000 schoolgirls fell pregnant this year. So, it is time for preventative action.

That number is staggering, I did not even know that...
It is really wonderful work you are doing, and we can only look up to you and your team's ability to impact the lives of so many already! We can discuss this as well in the meetup, as I would love to hear more about this.

Yeah, a really big problem. It is not my team, as it's our chairlady that put it all together, but I will explain all the ins and outs to you when we meet. Some exciting stuff going on and already bigger things are planned. So hold on to your hat, as here we go.