A subtle look into our humanness

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Kea'au Beach Sunset copy.jpg

I think about it a lot. Maybe more than is healthy. But it's something that I just can't ignore because of how very core it is to me, who I am, and quite literally all I ever will be.

Sounds kind of weird doesn't it? Now that I actually type it out it kind of does. But that might be because it rarely ever crosses our minds. I know I never thought of it that much myself. But with this realization I've come to value life and the things it brings so much more. Because anything can happen at any moment.

It might have had something to do with a losing bet I made on an online gambling site. A few thousand dollars equivalent down the drain, just like that. It's a damn good amount of money for someone like me who's in debt and hasn't seen assets to truly call mine for a while.

But back to my point. I scare myself maybe a little sometimes when I realize the thought has crossed my mind again, but it's these thoughts that open my mind just a little more about how the world works and what my place is in it.

We are all but tiny ants in the grand scheme of the universe. It's a bit daunting to think of, but I've found that it helps with decision making sometimes.

Once this realization is made, a lot of stress is taken off of yourself, since the things that used to matter don't, because you realize that they're not worth your time.

Our focus starts to sharpen, and by that I mean we choose to do more meaningful things based on this thinking. Every moment spent reacting to the world around us, is a moment with its potential thrown away. Every interaction is a precious one, because all events leading up to it made it possible, and everything that comes after it is uncertain.

Sort:  

Amazing photos. Thankyou for sharing @kuracoin.help upvote mypost. And folloe me.

Thank you!