You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Truth is a liar's invention." A Reading for happy Skepticism.

in #philosophy4 years ago

because it breaks with convention and develops an epistemology in which realization no longer concerns an "objective" ontological reality, but exclusively the ordering and organization of experiences in the world of our experience.

Right, humans have no access to "objective" data (all data is sample-biased).

Seen in this light, I can say: there is no problem of misunderstanding at all. I think (construct) it is only a problem because I habitually try to bring the view and experience of another person (or the world) into absolute unison with mine.

Unification becomes then the problem, ...

Well stated.

This is the problem of Qualia.

Your experience is personal, private, qualitative, experiential, and deeply meaningful (gnosis).

Nothing drives me up the wall faster than someone who tries to tell me what I know or what I'm thinking, or what I like, or why I'm doing something, or what I meant when I said "such-and-such" (the-mind-reader-fallacy).

I make quite an effort to not make the same error.

Incidentally, I've found recently that if I explain that I'm an INTP, it often clears things up to some degree and helps persuade some people that they can't reliably project their own thoughts and motives onto me (unless they also happen to be an INTP).

Sort:  

Qualia doesn't have a problem, I'd say :)

Your experience is personal, private, qualitative, experiential, and deeply meaningful (gnosis).

Yes, I need it to stay flexible in the world I live in. Otherwise I would not be able to switch from the role - for example - of a teacher into the role of a student - all in one encounter! I could not follow the different characters and their expressed emotions in a movie or book. I'd get stuck with the scenes and could not watch the ongoing stories. I would have problems to feel with animals etc.

Nothing drives me up the wall faster than someone who tries to tell me what I know or what I'm thinking, or what I like, or why I'm doing something, or what I meant when I said "such-and-such" (the-mind-reader-fallacy).

HaHa! :D Yeah, I guess everybody knows that. Can you take it as a somewhat twisted attempt that this person basically wants to know what you know, do or mean and is a bit overzealous in his interpretation because he doesn't want to look like a jerk? If someone gives you their interpretation without being asked, your reaction could be: "Is this a question of yours?"

I have sometimes the opposite problem with my son (drives me up the wall). He gives me minimal information. The rest, he expects me to be a mind reader. It's now a running gag of mine when he overdoes it:)

I make quite an effort to not make the same error.

How many times out of ten do you think you can avoid making the same mistake? Does it change anything about a dialogue?

... What is an INTP?

Qualia doesn't have a problem, I'd say :)

I agree, the "problem" is trying to know (how do you know) someone else's qualia/gnosis (It is important to maintain a constant awareness of and vigilant respect of our epistemological limits).

What is an INTP?

https://www.16personalities.com/de/intp-personlichkeit

https://www.16personalities.com/de/kostenloser-personlichkeitstest

"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."

Also, just a note, INTP's don't "hate rules" they just find it difficult to tolerate obviously counter-productive rules. Perfectly logical rules are fantastic.

Click to watch 5 minutes,

:) Thanks, that was fun. I did the test and read your result as well as mine. It's inspiring to do those things and I like to play with the presented ideas. Though ...

I would suggest it differently: depending on the company, the professional environment, the private sphere, the public sphere, and the current quality and expertise of the person I meet, I can assume any character that I think has the best potential for the situation, depending on the person or persons with whom I am currently in contact.

Insofar as I have committed myself to a certain role (for example, because I hope for something from it), I am perceived by my fellow world in a situational way. Self-perception and the perception of others fluctuates because it changes when I meet friends, my family or colleagues or strangers in public.

My so-called character is perceived differently by children than by my peers, differently by animals than by people, differently by older people than myself, etc. For some I am inexperienced and naive in some areas, for others I am competent and self-confident.

It is different again when I am alone or in the forest, by the sea or on a mountain. For those who want to see a certain character in me, I have a particularly clear character, and a less clear character for those who do not fixate on it. For those I myself want to appear as a certain character, it is the same as just mentioned.

I can be introverted, just like extroverted, quiet, like loud, iridescent and reserved, gripping or lame.
The society I live in influences what people perceive of me as a character. If the spirit of the times places particular emphasis on communicative skills, this is ascribed to me as an ability, whereas if I had been born in a different time or on a different continent, something else would have been ascribed to me, which would have been en vogue. And so on.

I'm not even sure anymore if there is a strong tendency for this or that quality, because I've reached an age where I'm going through the proverbial change: menopause.

I think what I could say: there is a tendency. Those tendencies in humans can be quite fascinating.

In the End I like to say: I am Erika from Hamburg ;-)

My so-called character is perceived differently by children than by my peers, differently by animals than by people, differently by older people than myself, etc. For some I am inexperienced and naive in some areas, for others I am competent and self-confident.

Well stated.

Perhaps try taking the quiz while imagining yourself at a new job, then take the test imagining yourself surrounded by your closest friends. And compare the results.

I find that often, when I'm with friends, I turn into an ENTP.

Yes, I can confirm that. I like to drive it even further :)