Describe Reality. Right Answers Only.

in #philosophy4 years ago

I posted this message on Twitter and Facebook yesterday, and I'm blown away with the response:

image.png

As of right now, 106 comments on Facebook.

The tweet blew up with comment replies also:


image.png

I was wondering, why did this simple message get such a response from people? I like to think about and analyze these things to better understand human behavior so I can better understand myself. I think this one connected because there have been so many "wrong answers only" questions on Twitter lately. They are fun and funny, for sure, but we're also living in a time where it seems like all we're getting about anything is wrong answers.

Not only that, but reality itself is feeling less real every day. Global lockdown, quantum weirdness, trillions of dollars being minted while the stock market goes up and jobs and businesses go away with rents and mortgages unpaid. It feels insane. So maybe that's why so many people found this question interesting.

It's also possible this question is at the core of why we're here (to know ourselves).

There were so many great answers that I wanted to put them in a Hive post so I could refer back to them later. Feel free to click through the links above and read them on Facebook or Twitter directly if you want, but as we've learned with the recent Twitter hacks (and continue to learn again and again), centralized platforms can not be trusted to protect your content even now, let alone years from now.

Okay, now on to the responses.

Some favorites from Facebook:

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

Fun answers, right? Now on to Twitter:

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

So what about you, Hive? How do you describe reality?

Right answers only.

Sort:  

Consciousness experiencing itself infinitely

I already answer this :)

Illusions of perception.

It is matrix quote I believe that just got stuck in the back of my head, and I think it describe it in the best possible and shortest way.

Reality is infinite. For every person, every creature there is a different reality. I think its what we create.

There's lot of ideas in my head, I dont want to talk about those regular simulation kind of complex explanations.

So for me;

"Reality is the one I couldn't accept, it's the place I become uncomfortable. Whenever I understands a slice of reality, I always runs away to my safe beaitiful imaginary world"

So after seeing all these replies what are the changes came in your way of seeing reality !

Great question. I'm not sure it changed it all that much for me as I (try anyway) not to define my reality by short one-liners. Instead, I'm reading a lot of books that go into great detail explaining their case for reality and giving evidence or logical arguments to support their case. To me, this is more about understanding how others see things to better understand where my view fits in with theirs.

I'll probably do a post eventually with all the things I'm reading.

That's cool. And you said right, it's hard to define reality in a few lines.

Will be waiting for the summary post.

Reality is complicated.

We muddle along hoping our understanding is somewhere in the ballpark, but we never know for sure. Some of us try to improve our grasp of the ineffable, some of us are happy stuck in a rut.

Only ilusion!

We don't know what we don't know. So who knows really?

My Reality is Human

Life is just a pot of beans......no one gets out the same way...

Majestic experience of now.