You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Truth is a liar's invention." A Reading for happy Skepticism.

It is very difficult to give an opinion. . . this publication is very complex and very complete from your point of view.

The man himself is complex! Their decisions and their beliefs. Man himself has studied himself to try to explain psychological aspects and thus create theories that unify behaviors.

Truth, like time (of Einstein), is relative. Everyone has a piece of truth but putting the pieces together doesn't make a whole.

I feel trapped by what I just read and I haven't fully digested it yet. I'll read again...
Greetings @erh.germany

Sort:  

Thank very much you for reading. I agree, it's complex.

The difficulty with the relativity of truth is that for one, it doesn't appear to be relative, but absolute. In those moments where this view is challenged, one can begin to waver. If I made a statement and you asked me, "Are you sure?", I might answer the first time, "Of course."

But if you would ask three times and keep asking me: "absolutely sure?", I would become insecure and my reaction could be such that I suddenly find my fundamental statement not so sure anymore.

Such things happen quite quickly, because we humans are so fascinatingly flexible, we even have to be.

Unfortunately, we often feel this "being insecure" as something bad, although it only proves that we can become wonderful changelings. This ability to put oneself in the shoes of others is, in my view, a strength as well as a weakness. To distinguish where it shall be friendly strong and where it does not need to be fixed, I call the art of experiencing the living moment.

Why do you feel trapped, may I ask?

Greetings to you:)

Thank you for your sincere and thoughtful response.

I do believe that our truths and views can change if you insist more than once to ask the same question. That makes us rethink our answers and in doing so we modify what we consider an absolute certainty.

You write your sentences firmly and then you question yourself about the writing. That creates possible parallel worlds. Then I get caught between the first statement and all the alternatives that can contradict it. My own thoughts and my own experiences catch me.

Ah ... I guess I understand. Interesting ... Reminds me on something I just have read. ... Let me try to memorize it ... I think when between the firm statement and the n (n=infinite) alternatives (parallel worlds as you say it) you get wobbly then you might find that you cannot stay safe with a decision? Is that what you meant?

Like when you say: I love ice-cream the most, please serve me ice-cream, and the waiter takes this as your order while on the neighbor table you hear a lady reading the menu:

"mousse au chocolate, cheese cake, lemon soufflé, raspberries with whipped cream, jelly, passion fruit sorbet, buttercream,"

the whole heaven of delicious desserts :) - and it makes you dissatisfied because now you could also imagine to have another one of this dishes?