In the name of the Benjamins

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
I've been thinking all day about my last show radio show with krystle, mostly because I walked away filled with both inspiration and more unanswerable questions. In an effort to organize some of the ideas that wont leave me alone, I will attempt to wrestle my computer's keyboard once more, hopefully it will surrender and produce something coherent.

Exiting the Rat race

I'm sure I don't stand alone in the admiration of those individuals who have effectively exited the so called rat race. The brave souls that for a reason or another decided to just say "I'm out" as if the events to come where not in the least important. For one, we all want to believe we have certain control over our own future and we enjoy pretending that somehow someway our plans will work out in the end. In hindsight of course life with all its unpredictable twists always ends up moving the goal posts, but a powerful gift we posses is adaptation.

I want to make clear that I'm not necessarily complaining about my life choices, I'm simply making an observation after the fact. I'm saying all this attempting to think back with the mind of a younger version of me, the one that held more idealistic positions. Why these thoughts are conflicting, at least to me is because I happen to not be able to recognize the moment where chasing the all mighty dollar became the priority, the moment I unconsciously stepped into the machine as one of its millions of cogs.

From a distance It seems like the people who recognize the slave-like lifestyle we participate in and walk away are much happier. But to get the whole picture is important to recognize the apparent comforts that must be given up when such a decision are made. Exiting the system, requires exiting its superfluous comforts too.

Questioning Needs

We seem to be wired to accumulate things, this might be an ancient behavior best suited for a world with scarce resources that does no longer exist in the same manner. It makes sense to imagine a tribal society where the strongest of members where able to safely store the most resources for themselves and their descendants. Where this whole thing gets confusing or at least to me, is that most of the things we default to collect, are not needs themselves but unnecessary wants disguised as needs.

Do we need a new car in the driveway? Do we need the newest cell phone? Do we need a big home? If you are fumbling the ball attempting to knit justifications for declaring these material possessions needs, you might be proving my point for me. A human seems to need very little, aside from good shelter, safe food and good company the rest fails to stand in the same category.

Now, this is not to say I don't want things, you don't want things or that its a bad thing to want things. My point is simply to make the observation that those who have effectively "exited the game" asked themselves these questions and removed the fabricated needs from their life. Is this the right thing to do? Is this what we should all do? Nobody can answer that question for us or at least that is my current opinion. This line of personal questioning is just another philosophical mirror I intend to use more often.

The leap

Is probably the scariest of steps, because it requires to shutdown preconceived notions of truth and rebellion against social consensus. I think that many of us would find ourselves being "intervened" by a family remember if we where to express selling it all for and moving to a beach in Cancun to see what happens. Its not because of myopic thinking that a concerned parents, brother or spouse would voice those fears, but because of programming that we have all been exposed from an early age.

I must confess that one of the words that produces an almost allergic reaction to my psyche, is to hear people refer to the "leapers" as I will now refer to them, as the "WOKE" ones. This is not because I don't believe in the concept or anything of the sort, but because I'm inclined to believe that anyone who is "woke" or "enlightened" rejects words of senseless idolatry.

But because I love having these conversations with other fellow sapiens, allow me to finish this post by asking you my dear reader:

"Would you do it? Would you leave it all behind and just go?"




Other posts by yours truly
• Plans for the weekend
• Quitters never quit at quitting - Dmania is no more
• Bright and early
• Songwriter Shop talk with our very special guest @luzcypher
• Join me tonight for a special edition of Songwriter Shop talk with @luzcypher
Sort:  

Everyone has a different version of heaven. For some it would be laying on a beach almost naked, living off the land, just having love, and growing old, without any money or development. For others it's turning up in a club every night on mollys with hoes all around. For yet others it's 70 virgins to deflower. For yet others it's getting wings and mindlessly worshipping santa clause like figure. For some it is being surrounded by aesthetic luxury and looking upon things of value all around them from golden statuetes to an exotic wife. And the list goes on.

This view of heaven, here, and possibly even after death, greatly influences our decisions. Not just heaven from a habitat perspective, but even internal heaven.

Some are buddhas, needing nothing, wanting nothing, free of attachment and all physical interest and are looking forward to death with great hope (in an almost strange sometimes, self-hating, masochistic way.)

Some are the opposite, tantric, rooted, lusting, self-pleasing, other pleasing, excitable, thirsty, predatorial, hungry, hot, attached, expecting, with great hope of never dying (in an almost strange sometimes, narcomaniacal, sadistc way.)

And every grey in between.... ^^^^

And then there's sadomasochists vs hedonists, the wiring is totally inverted, and thus values as well.

I find it interesting that it looks a lot like a Chakra system. You find the former with the imbalanced crown chakra and totoally centered in their head and the latter all in the rootchakra and totally centered in their Muladhara. Maybe the vedics were onto something- at least as far as classifying the phenomenon of differences.



Anyhow, would I? Probably not. I have 3 kids and 2 who have medical needs. I'm long past daydreaming and being overly concerned with myself lol.

Note however, I have LONG not had a "job" and that may factor here. I've already taken up the flag of firing my boss.

An old mentor of mine once said, "Those who believe money is the root of evil are the root of poverty in 1st world countries."

He also said, "Do you know how much money it would take to get rid of all my money?" I laughed. He was the one who reminded me that even dying isn't free. It costs someone something even if I defer the expense. Lol

Yes my dear Omi, you bring some excellent points to the conversation... everyone has their own version of heaven on earth, but I happen to believe that a life of balance is the closest thing we can establish as foundational for true happiness.

Why would I make such assertion, if I'm just a mere mortal with inherent biases? Because by observation we can deduce that all actions and all behaviors have a cost. Life is transactional that way.

Some of the descriptions of the "hypothetical heaven" smell like evanescent beauty simply because they lack taking cost into account. To party every night with 100 women, snoring cocaine and drinking whisky might sound appealing to the mentally fermented, but they too will be stuck with a bill they will have to pay for their choices.

So of course I agree with you, but lets add to your observations a macro element of time.

<3

ps.- did I tell you i love your brain already?

Ah yes, life balance. Homeostasis of the life. I theorize all systems are seeking that — including social systems, steemit, all earthlings, the planet itself, whatever lives in people's armpits, etc...

I think you're right as well. It can be deduced reasonably that because life is transactional, those dreaming of relief from living would find a fantasy of being able to rest and receive quite attractive.

I've been the mentally fermented too. I didn't even know I was smart until I stopped getting smacked all the time. 😜 I've come to appreciate the brain-cells I have left. And I can confirm, all those years came with a hefty cost.

& Ditto ♥️

In answer to your last important question: Yes, I would. In fact, I did do that. I never chose the normal road, despite the protestations of my father. I was called a hippie for not having a normal 9-5 job, for not getting into debt or having a credit card and for living in a cooperative commune.
And I can say that I was far happier and far more abundant in that state.
I achieved far more of the things that were most important to me and lived with far far less stress.
I decided to try the 'normal' way of living for the last few years and I must say that I have been the least happiest of my entire life.
More things - less time.
More stress - less friends.
More security - less passion.
More exhaustion - less health.

So I'm at a new crossroads.
And taking definitive steps to trace my steps back to that path of less is more...

Great thought provoking article, my friend...
Thank you...

Oh I know what @luzcypher was talking about was completely up your alley... he spoke your language. I think the message resonates with most of us musos... maybe.

You have done really great job sir, this is so informative. Keep the good work flowing. We meet on msp later today

good contant... thanks for shareing...
@upvoted

good comint... thanks for writ my intenrnt

hahaha!

its my plasure sir

This post has received a 7.57% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @omitaylor. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.