Time traveling rants

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been warned a few times on this trip to avoid certain areas. It makes sense of course there is no way the whole city is safe, but these somewhat negative conversations have intrigued me quite a bit.

A taxi driver loses his smile when touching the subject, becomes somewhat bothered with reality and shares his quite radical opinion. “I think we should just put all these people against a wall and shoot them dead” - I know not to react significantly, but genocide is not something I can smile back at.

I simply said “would you consider the possibility that crime is social symptom and not the problem itself” he miraculously agreed but added in a very casual way “Tumors are symptoms too and those need removal”

I’m sure the taxi driver of this little encounter has had some unpleasant encounters on the ugly end of weapons and I won’t dismiss his disdain for his unsafe reality. Being curious by nature I’ve been asking more people about the subject only to learn that there was a time back in the day where there was no crime at all.

(Sarcasm)
Wow... where have I heard that before? The military was in control and they ruled with an iron fist and everything was perfect. (/sarcasm)

How silly can we be, we speak of liberty as the ultimate utopia yet when we have it we long for restrictive governance.

Now I do know that there is a classic psychological pattern here at play, the same thing that makes you think the grass is greener on the other side of a fence and possibly was the primitive mental fuel for land exploration. But I also think it’s just our ability to change the past.

Time traveling is real... I’m sorry nobody told you and that you’ve never seen a Delorean. We can effectively rewrite memories with repetitive thought processes and what I would only describe as logical makeup.

Why would we do this? Why time travel like this, you want to be the next McFly you say?

It’s just the good old psyche trying to protect itself from emotional scars or more accurately put, trying to justify them by removing us from agency.

Well yeah I got robbed by so and so last week, but it’s not my fault in any way, it’s the system, it’s this government and I’m not even holding one paddle of this sinking boat. A quick revision of that thought makes it appear logically sound, but it removes other possibilities like you choosing to participate of the machine and system that has nurtured the inequality and crime.

Am I defending the criminals? Not in the slightest, what I am saying is that if you just kill them, more would come and possibly more justified, after all, their family members were killed by the oppressing class, at least in their mind this is the case.

Solutions? Nobody truly knows, but financial sovereignty is definitely the main ingredient the batter needs to make a good tasting cake. The way these governments are built is quite nasty in my opinion, but they are carefully crafted to allow corruption to get it’s guano.

I think I’m done ranting for now... I will call this hotel room rant number two unofficially.

These kind of things happen when one is alone with thoughts.

@meno

Sort:  

Que buen articulo, me encanto demasiado

Ahora te estoy siguiendo

te abrazo, hermano @meno. Qué bueno que dediques parte de tu tiempo a reflexionar y, sobre todo, a compartir con nosotros tus pensamientos.

This is really good but I prefer( Finding meno )
Its an epic tale of adventure and intrigue, where courage, strength and determination shine in the end.

Funny you say that , I just finished watching finding Dory in Italian because why not.