You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am a ...

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

The only "I am" is God. The great "I am".
Before I start let me say I do agree with a lot of what you say but not all. People do label other people and then go by the generic stereotype of that label to put them in a box. I doesn't have to and shouldn't be that way. In this world we are all different and separate in our own ways. We all have different cultures, values and beliefs. How I see myself and what I believe in is just that. How someone else sees me is their opinion. My thoughts and actions define who I am and what I believe in. I am a Christian and the God I believe in has a son "Jesus Christ". I need to define that when I say God that I am talking about the Christian God. When someone says they believe in God unless defined can be a number of Gods. The Muslim God is not the same God as the Christian God and they see Jesus as a mere prophet. Jesus is the Savior who died on the Cross for our sins, he rose again in 3 days and ascended to the right hand of the father. Jesus is about to return to the earth again soon. Not as a lamb for slaughter this time, but as the Lion. Muslim faith is totally different and Jesus is a mere prophet. In Muslim faith it is not the same God and Jesus is not the son of God and not the one to return. There is a difference between the two and a difference which requires there to be a separation. What I choose to believe in is my choice and others choose to believe what they will. There has always been a separation and there always will be. How we choose to recognize the separation and deal with it is on us. That doesn't mean there has to be a hate associated with separation which is what so many do. We are all human and all the same but different at the same time. I refuse to be put into a mixed category of beliefs because the world says that's the way it should be. That's what the enemy wants. Jesus said that we are to be separate from the world and not be a part of it. The enemy tries to blend us in. NOT ME! I stand alone and I believe in the Christian God and Jesus Christ. The Pope and the Vatican are pushing the Bestial system of One world government, one world religion(Stating we all believe in the same God) and a one world currency. I refuse to be a part of that and will stand separated and alone if I have to. So I choose to be labeled as a Christian. Someone that is not is not. There is too much blending going on in the world today while at the same time being separated in angry subcultures due to media hype. We are all different. We believe what we believe and I choose not to believe what others do and will not compromise just to get along. I agree we need to recognize the differences and separations amongst one another but that doesn't mean we can blend oil and water. Again there has to be separation. It's not the separation that's the problem, it's how we deal with it. We need to respect one another and respect others backgrounds and beliefs regardless if it aligns with ours or not. We don't need to conform to anyone elses beliefs because the world tells us to or we are brainwashed to do so. Satan (The enemy) is trying to mold everyones religion together. They are trying to mold Islam and Christianity together to make Chrislam and say we all believe in the same God. That is false.They are also trying to state that there are many paths to God when there is clearly only one and that is through Jesus Christ. He is the Way and the truth and the life as stated in the Bible. So I choose my own label and wear it proudly. I am a Christian and I make sure everyone knows it. Even unto my death! There needs to be separation. Not so much by labeling but by belief and how we deal with it is on us. Just because I believe in what I do doesn't give me the right to force my belief on you or anyone else or make them conform to my way. That has to be within the person themselves. They make the choice of what they want to be. When I talk to people about Jesus I always try to be sure they are accepting. If not then that is their choice and I move on. Sorry for the large rant.

Sort:  

I would argue that the Christian god is not actually the same god all over Christianity. It's a really fragmented religion and so is the concept of god. Since god is unknowable (if at all existent), the version of god vary quite a lot and the term the Christian God can have meanings almost as varied as the generic term god itself.

And what would make you say that? I see no where in the Bible where God changes. Please show me where. God -Revelation 1:8 - I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty.

  • Also Jesus is the son of God and God at the same time. The Bible also states that Jesus is always the same too! -- Hebrews 13:8 - Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever. I beg to differ.

Did I say god changes in the Bible? I said the idea of the Christian god is fragmented which I maintain is actually the case. Ask a Southern Baptist, a Catholic, a Protestant, a Eastern Orthodox Christian and a Mormon what god is and what he demands from you and you find a lot of differences. So when many Christians say god, there are big differences in what they imagine god is.

That's why I say saying the Christian God is almost as unspecific as using the generic term god as there are so many sects of Christianity all with their own contradicting interpretations.

As of your unrelated claim that God doesn't change in the Bible, I would actually disagree. One, God constantly contradicts himself in the Bible and there are serious differences in the way the god character acts in the Old and New Testaments.

For instance, God's stance on human sacrifice seems to change:

Exodus 22:29

Thou shalt not delay [to offer] the first of thy ripe fruits, and of thy liquors: the firstborn of thy sons shalt thou give unto me.

Leviticus 18:21

And thou shalt not let any of thy seed pass through [the fire] to Molech, neither shalt thou profane the name of thy God: I [am] the LORD.

Examples of contradictions in the Bible are actually abundant. The ambiguity created by so many of them is actually one of the reasons that there can be so many radically different versions of Christianity as each sect picks and chooses different verses to follow and disregard based on different interpretations and external doctrines.