Dog walk diaries: Risk or Reward

in #philosophy6 years ago

This image was taken at almost midnight last night, unfortunately on my phone. The air had the look of a hot evening sunset back in Australia and it felt homely.

20180724_233021.jpg

I went to grab a quick chat with my friend who has just moved back to Finland, a guy who now is no longer forced to work. The last few years he has been positioned in the UAE and he earned well enough and he is bright enough to have set his family in a very good position, one most dream of, financial security.

It took its toll though as the work, organisation and his boss were not the easiest and the job was essentially 24/7. He said he could have kept going and worked for the next step but, one or two more climbs and his family wouldn't follow and he didn't want to lose them.

There is a balance point somewhere though isn't there? Where in order to provide sone kind of security, some kind of risk has to be taken. The investment will come at a cost but the trick is knowing when enough is enough and walking on to other things.

My friend was saying many don't walk in his business. They work and keep achieving material upgrades but end up socially bankrupt, alone, worn out.

I find that these days the opportunity to even be like that is limited as more and more people don't risk anything that makes them uncomfortable. Risk by almost definition is discomfort and to have the reward, some must be accepted.

I think a lot about this in many ways and when I look backward, I know I was not risk-seeking enough when the costs of failure were much lower. The older one gets, the more difficult the recovery. As I approach 40, I umderstand why many have midlife crises as they step back, review and ask, "what have I achieved?"

Every decision has a cost. As does every decision unmade.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone )

Sort:  

Tis the truth man. Trick being to try and learn from as many mistakes as possible when still young enough to try and try again and to take those risks before you have too much of an impact. A much safer, but not always available option.

Every action has a reaction, but we can't regret our life. We can just keep moving on and pushing forward. Hope you're doing well @tarazkp!

I don't have regrets as much as lessons I should revisit so that my forward movement is a little cleaner :)

Hope you are good also.

It is important to prioritize what is more important, my family or continue to climb positions and achieve financial freedom. And not only my family or the economic but also my health. In my particular case I retired at age 58 and many people told me: continue giving classes at a higher level, more than one university would be interested in contacting you among its staff of teachers. My answer: No, I want to rest and more tranquility.

Lot’s of things can relate with. When my first son was born and quickly decided for myself that I do what to see him grow up and that I was willing to sacrifice a bigger or more rewarding carreer for it!
While we all dream about financial security or even better financial independence, I don’t regret this decision not at all!
We both, the wife and I, have a decent income and can life the life we want!
We have enough timefor both the kids. So I am happy with this!
Yes, we could have been a (little) bit further with financial independence but sacrifices were made and I am glad that I did!
Cheers,
Peter

That is great. I think many people don't necessarily think so much about it and use their intuition as to what is the best decision. Intuition is usually lazy and habitual.

Your friend took the right step in the right time. The most people who prefer to give all their time to their work, end up loosing their family and friends. I know some people like that who dont even have time to read a book or watch TV. At the end we would ask ourselves "for whom are we doing all that"? We work to have money and get everything we want. But if we cant keep our family stable and happy, the money has no meaning anymore.

who dont even have time to read a book or watch TV

I don't read books (unless I must) or watch TV because there is so little of value in them for me personally. I find that they eat my creativity, not inspire it.

People generally prioritise what they think will make them happy, not what will.

I also dont watch TV. Youtube is taking some of my time. I love to watch historical documentaries, Ted shows and other videos when I need some information. But books are my best friends and I love to read about history, philosophy and self-help teachings :)

Yeah, it does depend a lot on what is consumed as , you are what you eat. Most just consume whatever is served.

I did that before, but in the last years I decided to choose only what can help me and educate me. And I am glad to take such a decision :)

Life is full of risks! Period! Sometimes one has to dwaw a line, make divisions, and live with them. Money is good, but it's not everything! I believe your health, happiness, and your peace of mind are much more important!

Thank you for sharing.

I believe your health, happiness, and your peace of mind are much more important!

I agree and unfortunately in many cases, these are tied to the ability to pay for certain things like quality food or clean water.

I'm fast approaching forty myself and feel less secure then ever before -so many bad decisions in the past. one that seem small and insignificant at the time but end up having drastic effects in the future.

Very true, the older you get the less risks you can take. One has more responsibilities and does limit the risks you can afford to take. I look back now and wish i had taken a few more risks but who knows what then. You cannot live in the past and only have to look for tomorrow and the current. Steemit is somewhat of a risk when you consider how much time you put in and could be doing something else. The reward will be high though and outweighs the risk in my eyes.

You cannot live in the past and only have to look for tomorrow and the current.

Yep, can learn from it though.

Steemit is somewhat of a risk when you consider how much time you put in and could be doing something else. The reward will be high though and outweighs the risk in my eyes.

This is my risk now and one I am willing to take. The price is my time, energy, thoughts and effort as well as the other things I could be doing. A few years here in the attempt at the reward is worth it I think.

We are both on the same page with this and I believe our efforts will not be in vain. Just have to remain positive and keep pushing.

Someone says...

People are not surrounded on their deathbeds with things but with people

We could see how essential we're meant to take relationships to be the most important thing.
People can make a lot of money and yet live like a lone ranger adding no value to others ,even to their immediate family.

@tarazkp wow!! Amazing photography done and great message conveyed through this photography.

That's really beautiful and colorful photography (well click)
Especially your article and type of writing is good too
Have a good day and thanks @tarazkp

Wow this is amazing last night scenery , nice capture . Beautifuk photography . Your articles and type writing especialy is so good .

Thanks for sharing @tarazkp

Regret of past mistakes can contribute to mid-life crises. Besides, many individuals don't take risks to secure their future. I know that success comes at a cost. I haven't achieved my goals financially but I believe that I will reach my target. Despite the age, it is never too late if you can take the right decision today. Thanks @tarazkp for this informative post.

I forget how far north Finland is, so it stays fairly light there in summer. The picture may have been taken with your phone, but it's still a good one.

There is risk in doing and not doing things. Either way, we risk failure, so might as well choose a path that has better potential rewards. If we're moving forward, we normally have a better chance of succeeding than if we're just staying still.

Time to go figure out what risks I want to take today.

Hello, i just upvoted your post. Also, $10 - $160 Reward is waiting for you in GBYTE crypto, please
follow instructions in this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@cryptomonitor/airdrop-how-to-claim-tutorial-byteball-bytes-airdrop-to-steemians-hot .
Join our Discord & enjoy happy STEEM community: https://discord.gg/qQZ7Eng