Racism Isn't Racism Pt. 1

DISCLAIMER: This may not quite resonate with the great majority of readers, it may anger some and infuriate others. This thought of mine is a drawn-out and slightly arduous idea that I decided to entertain. If you read it through to the end I promise that you will have heard an entirely new perspective on the events the US has struggled through lately and may offer some valuable insight into some of the root causes behind the events that you would not otherwise have found on your own (this is the kind of stuff they don't mention in the main storyline).
So please, bear with me on some of these points and try your best to reserve your judgements.....
P.S. I apologize in advance to any platypus enthusiasts I might offend ;)

Before I begin let me just acknowledge that I'll have to do the Trotsky Tip-Toe through this controversial topic I'll be touching on in order to avoid being demonized and excommunicated as a hateful "ist." I'll have to backtrack some and sweet-talk a little to get the mental juices flowing before I plant this extreme mind@*#^ of a thought into the lenses of your subconscious mental processes.

I have to give all credit possible to youtuber HipHopDX for the video below which challenged me to think about such an interestingly complex question and sending me down such a mental rabbit hole:

While I find a certain amount of ignorance and fallacies in the arguments given ( i.e. the civil war was never about slavery, look it up), to mention them all here I'd have to go on a tangent about the rebel flag, states' rights, the legality of secession, the duty of cotizens to repel and invading army, and I'd have to expand on the multifaceted spot-on points he made as well, which would also mean I would have to make a dedicated post on the topic (if you guys are interested I might explore it for you), and I would have to actually admit that hick hop is music (I'm sorry, but I am far from prepared to do any sort of that).

However.... Should anyone be able to posess the power to judge and decide whether or not a genre of music have a right to exist?

Now that I've got your minds contemplating the implications of such a deep yet meaningless yet important question, let me talk bring up the subject of symbols.

Symbols are everywhere and in every part of our human existence. Whether handed down to us from our families, communities, the popular society or created ourselves in a very personal way, a symbol is a purely objective stimulus to which a meaning or message is attached. The human mind loves to create anchors (NLP term, look it up) and symbols in which to subjectify, categorize, communicate with or to help understand its environment. This native instinct and ability is kind of the main reason why art became a thing in the first place.

Thought to be continued in Pt. 2

p.p.s. If anyone missed the joke in the beginning, watch Dogma and remember that even God has a sense of humor ;)

Sort:  

This is my first time posting someone else's content, so @originalworks did I cite this the right way?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thespiritwithin to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!