Sunday hike back in time: the late 1700’s -early 1900’s.

in #photo6 years ago

I’m always eager to explore interesting places, so today I pulled over onto the side of the road to check out an old cemetery nearly hidden in the woods.

As I wandered up the hill to the cemetery I noticed a large wide ditch running straight through the woods adjacent to the other side of the cemetery. Yet this was no ordinary ditch. Judging by the dates on the markers, This was an old, unpaved, single-lane road that was once traversed by horse and buggy. The road actually sloped downhill and into a stream, although there was no sign of a bridge on either side of the stream. Here’s the old roadbed:
26A5877E-7288-4304-90DB-749BF844F1CE.jpeg

And here’s a shot of one of the tombstones which I though offered an inspiring reminder to us all:

9282EC9B-9312-4EB1-BACD-9F6B358EE0F5.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I love to explore :) ty for sharing