You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography 101 - #3 - The Basics (ISO and ‘Stops’)

in #photofeed6 years ago

These posts are so great!
I can't even get over how much information is in here and how spectacular the photos are.

That photo with the girl and her ladybug friend is incredible! I love it so much!

The idea of taking a shot in the room without the viewfinder is interesting... I've never really thought of doing that. All my shots were carefully crafted, whereas I guess you're capturing the action already happenin'. It's definitely something I'd want to try...

As a guy capturing all the action, how much time would you spent on your settings versus using the Auto function on your camera? I never used Auto until I shot a couple of weddings, and it was hectic as, but my shots were more documentative, yours are artistic.

Sort:  

Thanks man, I'm glad you enjoyed it :) The whole taking a shot without using the viewfinder isn't for the shot its-self, it's more just a little test of how well you can gauge exposure, although being able to 'shoot from the hip' is quite a handy skill. Mind you, since every new camera seems to have an articulated screen it's a bit of a defunct skill!

Honestly I literally never use any auto functions, I reckon it's probably been a good 5-6 years since I even played with an auto function, most of the time I'll just set my ISO to something that gives me a range in terms of Shutter/Aperture then stick with that, only changing if I go outdoors or indoors. Then it's really quick, literally just the spin of a wheel! I can honestly say the speed of changing settings has never been an issue. I think it just forces you to think not only about exposing the shot, but which element of the shot you're exposing for!