You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The story of a failed photographer

in #photofeed6 years ago

Oh, dude. I have so much to say about this I might just write my own post about being a photo fail! lol
I didn't know you were shooting pro at one point! Nice work! You should totally be shooting if you love it! Just shoot for the heck of it! Too bad we can't sit down and chat about it over beers. @mstafford and I will have to make our way down there when we get out adventure van.
The bottom line for me was that working as a pro photog was killing my desire to take pictures... my clients, and the industry in general, made me crazy. I refused to pick up my camera and turn it on unless I knew $$ was coming for it. As a result, I have zero skills in other genres such as landscape, wildlife, macro, etc. So now that I've freed myself from being pro, I'm looking forward to learning more about those!
Priorities, man! I've made myself... my 'creative sanity,' if you will, the priority. Not the $$$.
Anyway, keep shooting! Cheers!

Sort:  

Adventure van!!!
Well, you and the boy will always have a free place to stay when you make it down... we've got a guest room, 5 acres and no neighbors.

I got okay at studio photography, but was always just terrible at any other types, but I'm really excited to try and get a handle on landscape... I've never had so many volcanoes to play with. I'm so glad you understand where I'm at... I'll never get to that level again but, I'll also never have that pressure either, and that's really exciting!