The story of a failed photographer

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Esh

Once upon a time, in a land far, far away...



I used to spend my weekends moonlighting as a photographer.

@aweber and I were chatting on one of this posts about studio photography and I thought I'd expand on it here. Thanks for the Steemit inspiration (steemspo?) dude.

My partner was in 3 bands, and while I'd go to all the gigs, there was a lot of rehearsal time where she'd be out of the house... I started as every dude does, playing computer games and watching all the action movies... but my partner was so driven, so passionate, so motivated to create beautiful tunes that you couldn't help but be swept up in the whirling dervish of creativity that was her life.

Ironically, it was her gigs that lead me to photography in the first place. Since I was always there, just being an awesome roadie and/or drinks-getterer and/or band groupie, and they needed photos for FB, Bandcamp, Myspace, etc... and my partner was working for a camera store at the time... it all made perfect sense.

Band photography is super hard


The thing is, it totally is. The stage is dark, the lights are way bright and flashing AND the musicians are moving.... jerks. Just stand still in moderate lighting for once in your life!

You actually need a fairly decent camera to cope with all of that... so while we had camera store access I kept buying better and better cameras.

By the time I had an unreal camera... my girlfriend's bands had all the photos they needed... classic.

Since I had a good camera... I started doing band promo shots.

band promo bigger.png

Which lead to a female artist who wanted shots of just her, and inside....
... this meant I had to pick up a couple of cheap studio lights... and some material for a backdrop... and suddenly our tiny study became a tiny studio.

Katie Weston.png

The above was my first studio shoot, all the images are cropped really tight to avoid filing cabinets and desks in the background.... filing cabinets are typically not rock 'n' roll.

The reasons for getting into studio photography


Colly-IMG_3540.jpg

Musos know dancers and dancers know actors and word got out and I wasn't even charging money initially, I was just happy to help and really enjoying the creative process. My work can be totally dry (spreadsheets and grey screens yay) and so to be surrounded by super motivated creative people... while my partner was off rehearsing doing her own creative thing, just gelled really well in our lives.

I love studio photography... I loved controlling every single aspect to try and get the perfect photo. I loved the energy that the models and makeup artists and stylists and all their friends would bring. My partner would often come home from rehearsal to a photography party.
Cina-Sam.jpg

As I got more into it, I became super addicted to the process of everything coming together to form that perfect image. It took such a long time, I remember the first year being so disheartened because my photos were so shabby compared to everything else I was looking at.

I was completely overwhelmed with the technical aspect alongside the social aspect, ie, keeping up a conversation while trying to figure out what settings I should be using plus where the lights should be.

One day I was totally down on myself, I felt like I had wasted everyone's time and spent all this money on equipment I was producing trash with. My partner, who is super cute but feels awkward in front of the camera, dressed up nice, put some music on and posed for me while I figured it out. No talking... just figuring.

That helped me work out some quick wins... some lighting+settings+positions that always worked... and once I had those down I could converse with my model and start to push things a little.

How I started a photography studio


Catrina-IMG_1272.jpg

Eventually we moved house, and I got an entire one car garage as my permanent photography studio - which made dabbling on weekends a breeze.

Starting a photography studio is easy. You buy one camera... then you buy a light... then a backdrop... and then more backdrops... and then you hire makeup artists... and then you get more lights... and then you get better cameras... and before you know if 7 years have passed and you've gotten pretty okayish.

Finding work for me was easy, because it was just pocket money. It wasn't at all my full time job, it was my creative outlet... and because I wasn't stressing about it AND I was lovely, I actually had no end of clientele. At the time that I started, the photographers in Melbourne, Australia were a strange bunch. They often produced amazing work, but they were either socially awkward and way too technical, or 50% smarmy, 50% sleezy and 100% gross. I actually couldn't handle them and only went to one or two Melbourne Meetups.

I had a long-term rockin' girlfriend, it wasn't my livelihood and I was super hilarious but also totally chill (my words, I assume this is how everyone saw me). Considering that the modelling market is obviously young ladies trying to earn a living; an inexpensive, nice, good photographer was a welcome change.


Hayley-Hayley-IMG_5890.jpg

Why the business ultimately failed

Reason Number 1

I spent way too much.

As it was a side-gig, I didn't keep track of any of my expenditure versus my income.
This is hugely important and very silly.
I didn't run up any huge debts or anything, in fact I was never in debt, but I doubt that even after 7 years I actually made back what I spent... which made it less of a side-hussle and more of an expensive hobby.

I did my own Photoshop, but money was spent on gear, studio set up and sometimes hiring models if I had a project I wanted to work on.

My clients were young ladies who were students, waitresses, worked in retail or did promotion gigs, and were spending literally their hard earned money on photos for their portfolios so they could get better paying jobs. It was an investment and they were always super poor and so I'd never charge them much. The makeup artists often made more than I did... and were often unreliable, to the point where I did a makeup course and became my own makeup artist (not a MUA for myself, like I wasn't wearing it, I mean, sometimes, but, ahh, you know what I mean)... but there is a whole lot of expense that comes with that too.


Kristy-IMG_2424.jpg

Reason Number 2

Got out-niched

Remember when I said I was lovely?
The only thing more exciting than a lovely dude photographer who is good, is 2 female photographers that are incredible. They both independently did photography full-time, progressed in skill way quicker than I and could communicate with their clients in a way I'd never be able to. They didn't drive me out of business, but over a couple of years I definitely moved down the list of priority photographers.

Reason Number 3

Ah, I might have hated my customers

I realise this sounds ridiculous... but hear me out. When I started, I was only a few years older than my model friends, and so we still had a lot in common... but as time went on, I aged but they stayed the same. Models, particularly those wanting to get into promotional modelling tend to be 19-21 years old. Still, this wasn't really a problem... I'm cool, I'm hip, I know what a Rick and Morty is.

The problem was when my customers went from working models to Instagram models.
These girls had plenty of money to throw around... but they didn't care about the final images. They couldn't put in the work, and modelling is really hard work, to get the shot. This killed me.

Honestly, most of these girls were done when they took their own selfies in the makeup room... we no longer aimed for the same end goal... and that made me want to give it all away.

Reason Number 4

We moved hemispheres

It was easy to close up shop and sell off everything when you even start to consider shipping fees... it just wasn't practical and it was exciting to start a new life. My partner decided I was going to be on American Ninja Warrior and well, that requires some training.

Photography is time-consuming... but the Photoshop process is even more so.

Would I ever take up photography again?



I'm really strongly considering it.
When I see the work that @aweber, @yumyumseth, @skiesandsports, @caitycat, @zipplyo are punching out, I get really excited. I haven't missed it at all over the past 2 years I've been in the States... but now... so much itch.

We're a lot poorer now, so I couldn't spent crazy amounts on gear. I'd basically buy the minimum, and then work to make that pay for the next bit of gear.

I'd also have to see what the market is like in Portland... if my clients would mainly be Instagram models again, then I'd make the sessions far less about the final product and more about the process. Videos, process shots, live streaming, etc etc... and of course Steem has opened up an avenue to reward the creative process.

The area that I live in, is so pretty.... it feels criminal to not be taking photos every day.

I'm looking to buy a Canon 6D, and even the process of researching is bringing back super great memories.


The centered images on this post can be clicked on to enlarge (thanks @mstafford) and all images in this post were all taken by me. My website for verification is Adam Waring Photography with a link to my Steemit account at the bottom of the home page.

Thanks so much for reading such a crazy long post... if you got this far... thank you!


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Hi! I'm not really into photography but I like looking at art photos and landscapes. This story intrigued me and I'm glad I read it. It's more than inspiring! There are invaluable business and life lessons everyone should learn. I wish you the best of luck in your chosen career.

Beautiful photos! You are talented. It's unfortunate photography didn't work out for you but I'm a firm believer in "things happen for a reason". You can always keep it as a hobby to satisfy that itch you get! Or, use Steemit as a new platform to show your work!

I haven't been on Steem for very long, but honestly, I feel inspired every day I'm here... especially when I look at the pages of the guys and gals I listed. It's so weird... I've barely thought about any photography for at least 2 years, and now I'm super keen to get a camera. We're going to the Grand Canyon for the first time in a month and I'm definitely getting a decent camera for that. It's very exciting times and I feel like all that inspiration came from Steem.

Thank you so much for reading, I'm always thrilled to have you bounce on over here.

That's awesome! So glad to hear your passion has been rekindled since you've been on here. I've never been to the Grand Canyon so I'm ready to see what you have for us ;)

Wow. As someone who has been following your blog for quite some time it is so heartening to see your posts doing so well.
Didn't know you were a great photographer too. Good going.. pretty sure this second innings will be a lot more successful than the previous one..

Thanks dude! It was pretty exciting to get that big tick... and I must have hit a trending page or something because I'm still getting comments on this guy, it's really super exciting.

I got a camera yesterday so that is really super exciting. I don't think I'll ever go that deep into studio photography again, but being in the PNW has definitely got me interested in getting some shots of the volcanoes we see every day. They're so picturesque, it's ridiculous.

Hopefully I'll get to a stage with Steem that I can travel a lot more and then maybe live as interesting a life as my friend @pmiskeen.

I'm actually considering transforming my music recording studio into a photo studio. It's not practical to try to get to a professional level on both music and photography in my opinion. I'm kind of in a limbo/gray zone right now. After reading your story, I could say you're very lucky because you did everything for passion but in my case, I have to consider which one's a better business. Yours became an expensive hobby but it made you happy didn't it?

Wow! Really?
The only thing I can think of that's more expensive than a music studio... is, in fact, a photography studio! I completely agree with the impracticality of trying to master two things, especially two things that you could easily spend an entire lifetime on and still not have covered half.

I did love my studio photography, I loved the process and I especially loved how excited people got when they were given a great photo of themselves. It's such a great measure of that moment.

I was totally lucky that I had a full time job that could support this hobby masquerading as a side-hussle. Have you decided?

my photography isnt that good either. i tried to take pictures of my favorite bands at a concert and its hard. you should definitely do photography. there always room for improvement for blogging and thumbnail.

Why do i get a feeling that this story feels kinda similar to story of a lonely guy? ;)

It's so hard man! It's crazy hard... but that just makes it so amazing when you actually pull off that great shot. Lots of bands have a rule that you can only take photos during the first 3 songs, which is when the band and the lighting is just warming into the groove.

Hahaha, this story is so similar to that lonely guy... what can I say, you're definitely a muse!

Man, your images are amazing!!!! I cant believe you stopped when you're extremely talented. Ultimately, im an automotive and street photographer, but i appreciate all forms of the craft and definitely appreciate your work.

The automotive world is extremely difficult to make $$$ from due to everyone having a smart phone and thinking they're photographers. Unfortunately, Social Media has killed off many magazines and the ones still around pay very little because the shots aren't fresh by the time they've printed them.

Anyways, i do hope you pick the camera up again as i cant wait to see more of your work!

Thanks dude!! I'm not super sure how much is talent and how much was just raw determination... the great thing about digital is that you can just keep taking photos until it works.

Yeah, social media has impacted this industry like crazy... but it also creates opportunities... people are enjoying great photos more than ever.

Thanks mate... with a community as supportive as Steem, it's way harder to not pick up a camera.

I haven't decided yet. I will begin a couple of music projects this month and I'm on Steemit with focus on photography. Maybe it's just the way it is. I'm passionate about both and I can make money with both. I need to relearn budgeting time for these. Haha. Thanks for your reply.

Dude, I love your writing. I kept laughing, and my son kept asking what I was laughing at. Your first studio shots with the filing cabinets were the best in my opinion. ;)

In all seriousness, I can see you knew what you were doing with flash. Flash is one of those things that I can never seem to really figure out. I just do most of the same things over and over again, but it's such an animal. It really seems like you nailed it on most of those shots!

I can totally see why you got out of the game, but it stinks. I'm over here really wanting you to get a 6d and pump some images out man! Best of luck my man

Haha, well I'm glad I can entertain to the alarm of others... I wouldn't have it any other way.

Maaan, I probably spent years trying to get flash to work the way I thought it should.... but for a situation where you can control everything, there are so many variables. It's nuts!

Hahahaha, those cabinets were my best models. So easy to light!

Picked up the 6D yesterday, looking for some lenses now. Pretty excited!

Flash is so crazy. But comes in handy so much, especially if you know how to use it which it looks like you did. And nice man! Congratulations! With the payout of this single post man, you can get a pretty nice lens!

You know what the most exciting thing about this whole thing was.... trending on the @photofeed page. With the quality of photos @photofeed has been resteeming, I never would have thought that'd ever be possible, but BAM! crushing it... all thanks to you guys and your amazing comments.

Nice man! I'm honored that you enjoy photofeed. It's been a really fun process so far. I'm excited to see you release some new pictures in the Portland area!

Thanks for sharing this great story :)

I guess I am pretty much in a similar position as you were in the beginning, spending a considerable (although not insanely high) amount of money on my "expensive hobby" as you say.

However, I feel as long as the process is fun and not only about making money, it is absolutely worth it.

I hope you can find something that brings back that part of photography - the "creative" part that made it so interesting in the first place.

Thanks Christian!
You're right! I did get a lot out of the process, and really enjoyed the interactions and the creative process. I had always hoped that I could make it as a full-time photographer and it took me a few years to realise that wasn't going to be a thing, at least not in the way I had been pursuing it... that's totally fine, I like my job, it's just quite as fun as the creative photographic process.

Thank you! I've recently moved to an area that has incredible mountains and volcanoes so I honestly feel inspired all the time to get a camera and get going.

Thank you for reading, always super exciting to interact with brand new Steemians!

So glad you feel inspired to start again you have real talent, thank you for sharing. !

Thank you.... it's really been Chris' articles that got me thinking about it all again. I honestly hadn't given it any thought for over 2 years.... but I realise the PNW has been secretly calling out to me to take shots of volcanoes... Thanks heaps for your comment Verity!

Awww thats amazing, Chris feels very moved that you have taken inspiration from his posts, I really hope you start up again and I look forward to seeing your posts!

Dude. I love this post and this story. It's kinda similar to my history with photography. It started as a hobby, but after taking a class or two, I networked and then got into photographing bands, aspiring models and weddings. It was pretty fun at first. It got more and more expensive with the gear though and it took up more and more of my free time as it was also a side hustle too (my main job is in engineering).
Finally, it all came to a head when I realized that photography was more of a chore that I didn't enjoy rather than a hobby I enjoyed. It also didn't help that all my summers were spent shooting on weekends and post-processing.
I took a 2-3 year sabbatical from all photography and sold most of my gear. I only took personal photos during the time and chilled out. I found myself again and didn't think about photography for a while. During this time I got married and started a family.
Last year, my wife and I thought about some possible side hustles and we came back to photography. I was tentative at first since it left a bad taste in my mouth, but we gave it a go. We started a family photography business and shot our neighbors and friends to get started. The shoots were small and we just used the one camera and two lenses we had on us. Pretty minimal but it got the job done.
Now, a year and a half later, we're still doing it and photography is still fun. The projects are small, the clients love the photos, and photography has meaning again. Oh, yes, we're profitable as well. We now have two cameras, but have just stuck to two good lenses along with some other studio equipment (not a lot, just two strobes and a few seamless backdrops). Since she handles most of the communications, the load is shared and we work well together. It also provides us some shared goals and I think we're closer because of it.
To sum it all up, don't be afraid to dip back in. It can be good for you again and bring back some good feelings (and money perhaps). You already have the skills (clearly) and it would be a shame to let that go to waste. Maybe log down all your expenses out and money in, and really question all your purchases. Minimalism works. The Canon 6D is rad!
Good luck man! Hope to see you posting new work on here soon!

Thanks @duranc!
This is an amazing story! I'm so glad to hear it.
One of the things that I always thought was funny was that my partner always took way better photos than me, even though she had a fraction of the knowledge. She didn't know why her photos were so good, they just were... so I can totally imagine how working with your wife would be awesome. I do think having two photographers takes a lot of the pressure off. You really went about it the right way... minimal equipment and hard (but fun) work. I do think that you might not have gone about it as intelligentally the 2nd time had you not been a little burnt out the first time. I know I had approached gear as the means to solving a problem, instead of an investment.

I'll see how I go... I am getting a new camera for our trip to the Grand Canyon, and Steem is super inspiring, so a dipped-toe doesn't sound too out of the question at this point.

Thanks so much for sharing this... it actually really helps get it all clear in my head about a way forward.

Fabulous shots! I used to work for a photographer, and have done a bit of modelling. It's all hard work. The editing can take FOREVER. But if you love it, and can find a way to keep it fun, I say keep shooting! You've already taken the ride on the photography learning curve and obviously have the bug. Living in Oregon would provide some phenomenal backdrops and subjects! I'm in the mountains, and miss the ocean, so I'd love to see some water in those pictures. :)

Thank you!
Modelling is so hard! Also, a day of shooting would often leave me with a massive headache... I think it was all the hunching over and the energy required, but it's all hard work. I haven't had a camera the past 2 years, but all that changed yesterday... really excited to get some volcanoes in the shot.

Haha, I'll try... the ocean is an hour and a half away... but our closest ocean is actually where they filmed the Bells Beach scene (a famous surfing beach from my home state in Australia) in the movie Point Break... so yes, very confident I'll get back there with the camera.

Thanks so much for commenting and sharing... I'm so glad you're hitting Steem hard with so much awesomeness!

I've also spent quite a while going deaf standing in front of speakers waiting for some light, any kind of light, to land where I wanted it to. Photographing musicians is hard.

Thanks Mark! Thanks so much for everything you've done for me, I really appreciate it! Band photography is so crazy hard, but man, when you've got some great equipment you can get some truly incredible shots.

Great post Ninja. This is a very honest account of your journey, but a fun and interesting read at the same time. These photos also clearly show how you improved as you got more experience. Well done on this one.

Thanks @choogirl, you're the best chuck, out the rest.

Wow this is a really good post. I actually read the whole thing and usually when a post is super long I lose interest very quickly. Your photos are AMAZING by the way, you're super talented and I wonder if in your spare time you still do some photography because otherwise you're wasting your talent !!

Your journey was a really interesting one though and you actually touched on some really good observations about society these days and what we value and how that's impacted your ability to maintain success in photography.

Nicely written and thank you for sharing your story :)

Thank you my friend! This is literally the best compliment I could have ever received on this platform.

I know, I really do like photography, but to get photos like this, you've got to have so much equipment and so much time... but I would like to get a good camera for our trip to the Grand Canyon and who knows, that might get my photography-brain to come back. I am thinking that maybe I can get a good lens so I can take photos at ninja comps while I'm not competing... so I do think I might find myself back in before I realise.

This is such a great comment! I do think there is a lot of potential for photography with social media... people really love great photos, but yeah, it's really hard for professional photographers... especially with smart phone cameras getting so good... and with hilariously fun filters too.

Thank you so much!!

You're very welcome my friend :) and really glad you liked my comment - it was easy to write when you made such a quality post so really good work there.

You're right there with smartphones...everyone seems to be able to take 'professional' photos and people are finding it harder and harder to distinguish between true professionals and someone that just chose a good filter!

Keep it up and I'll be watching more of your posts with interest :)

Uh oh.... you're, ah, not expecting me to be interesting are you?

I can be entertaining, and I can be lovely... but I can't be interesting as well, that's too much.... but for you, I'll try real hard.

YEP I am. You set the bar so high with this post I am only expecting this sort of quality from now on!

Haha jokes don’t worry, you won’t have to try hard if you speak as honestly as you’ve done in this post 😀

Congrats on the Curie man, well deserved for this too, epic post! Thanks for the shout out :)

It's awesome to hear you're considering a switch back (BTW, loved the bit about 50% of your competition being creepy. STILL the case fyi!) We've got some really good friends out in Portland who are awesome togs, (WoodSmith studios and Wayfarer Studios are two of our favourites)

It's definitely tricky making it all work, I think there's a real fine balance to be had but you've clearly got the skills for it and if it's something you enjoy than why not! Obviously if there's ever any advice I can give/intro's I can make for you then just give me a shout!

Solid work man!

Thanks dude! I was pretty rapt to get the curie, I was actually aiming to try and get the photofeed upvote, so this super exciting. I didn't think I'd be on anyone's radar.

Hahaha, I am literally not surprised that there is still a huge creep factor in the industry, but hopefully all the constant reporting of sexual misconduct in Hollywood will give these togs a bit of a rethink and let models know they shouldn't have to put up with it.

I'm even less surprised that there are awesome togs in PDX... everyone in this place is so talented in so many different fields. Thanks Chris! I'm not sure I'll ever go back in as deep as I was, but Steem has given me so many ideas that I might not be able to help but capture.

Got my 6D yesterday! So good!
No lenses yet... but man, very, very exciting!

Haha well it was well deserved buddy, a really inspired post!

Hahaha yep, lots of creeps, in fairness to them most of them aren't the kind to be any actual trouble, just socially awkward individuals!!

That's awesome man! Except a camera with no lens must be massively frustrating! Still, a little Steem boost can't hurt the lens fund!

This post is certainly deserving of my new seal of approval. It made my optical sensors mis-fire all over the place. Good work human. Re-steemed on @steemsearch

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

Thank you so much The Curator! It is an absolute pleasure to be one of the earliest awardees of this amazing Seal of Approval. This is indeed my greatest day on Steem ever!

I like the first photo - very in line with my personal style - which leans toward darker backgrounds and popping subject forward. Question for you, how do you make it so people can click on the image and make it bigger?

Thanks man! Yeah, I definitely liked the darker backgrounds myself.... but I did have a huge number of different backgrounds to change things up a lot.

So, what you have to do is drag an image into your post... then put an extra "[" at the very start and a "]" at the very end (without the quotes). After that, put your hyperlink in again in brackets "(" & ")" and you should be right!

This is one of the best posts I've seen in a while!

I know it took a lot of time to put together and it may have been painful - yet therapeutic for you.

You've earned my follow!

Hugs from Boston!

Thanks Mikey! I really appreciate it!
The tough part was all my originals are on a hard drive on the other side of the planet, I actually had to go into the code of my website to find anything to display. It worked out okay, but a few of these images aren't as sharp as they should be because I could only find the thumbnail versions. Still, seems to have worked out okay.

Thanks again, really happy to have you as a follower!

Kinda been there and done that with the studio thing, but with a totally different type of photography. My primary focus has always been stock, and while I was enjoying the fabulous income from it in the nineties, I got so tired of being asked to take portraits that I decided to plow some of my hard earned stock money into a portrait studio in a wealthy are catering to those who had money to spend!

Wrong move! Although I did have some very nice clients who would easily spend $5,000 for their portraits, I had a few I had to "fire" because they wanted everything for nothing! They didn't like what I offered, and demanded packaging as with school photography etc. that I didn't offer. My pricing brochures showed clearly how the pricing was set up, but they always wanted to haggle as if at a street market. The richer they were, the more they demanded.

One well known local celebrity after "buying" my services at a local charity auction for one particular service, even asked me if I knew who she was a year after the offer had expired! She demanded that I give her something completely different that was not my style. Maybe I could have made some money there, but I had no desire to work with her with her demanding attitude.

It was a great day when the lease on the studio was up, and I was back to shooting only stock again! So, as a portrait photographer, I sort of failed too, but I wanted to in many ways. It was not my thing, although I did some great beach shoots!

Thanks so much for this DMC!
It's so weird that both you and I ended up at the same place... but coming from totally different directions. I had always wondered if I could have made a real go at it if I could find more wealthy customers... my poor model friends really were just getting by... I'm not sure many young ladies would put up with the hardships of modelling if they had an easier alternative... but now after your story, that well and truly answers that.

I never once had to haggle on price or was ever asked to do a style that wasn't in my wheel house. In 7 years I only had a couple of demanding clients, which is pretty incredible. I'm glad we both found our groove and didn't let the monsters get us down!

This post brings back so many memories!

I LOVED band photography! I loved the challenge of it. I had forgotten but I once wanted to steer my business in that direction.

The part in your post about buying so much equipment that your business is really just a hobby made me smile.

Then the not liking your clients part. 😉 I got to where I didn’t like mine. I mainly did portrait and family and it was not easy working with parents that would stress their kids out. Then, I had to stop after parents started trying to direct the post processing part... I didn’t want my name on some of the things they insisted on...

I’ve also been considered getting back into it as a business but steemit has changed that. It allows you to keep the creative process and do work that you want to do! I semi want to start doing it again but I don’t want to do it for individuals anymore. I want to do it for me.

This is EXACTLY where I'm at!

Honestly, I would have been totally okay with never picking up a DSLR again and just grabbing little pics on my phone, but Steem has changed all of that... not only am I constantly inspired, but I want to share my entire process with this platform, and I can potentially recoup some of the costs if people like my posts, it's an absolute win/win. I really hope this platform is successful, because, honestly, I'm really excited about how this might change my life.

I'm so glad you related to my post so much... I got a lot of comments saying I shouldn't waste my talent, but I don't think people understand that talent is such a small part of the equation.. grit and negotiation seem way more important, and I'm just not interested in playing that game anymore.

I am excited about taking more photos though... for me... and maybe for you.
Thanks so much for your comment, I super loved it so hard.

Same here! I literally blew a quarter inch of dust off of mine when I pulled it back out! Lol.

I've been loving it though. Much more than shooting for people. ;-)

What do they mean waste your time? Posting on steemit? That doesn't make sense...I guess it depends on why you do it.

Hey @jewels3, I think you misread my comment, people were saying I should waste my talent... as in, I'm a good photographer so I should be out there shooting. The point I was trying to make was that getting photos like these isn't easy, there is a whole lot of set up and expense, and that's what a road I won't go down again... getting natural photos, that I'm excited about!

I'm so glad you're back in and loving it! That's so exciting!

I did misread it! Oops.

Great info and passion. It's great that you were able to overcome the difficulty in band photography. Thanks.

Thanks dude!
Band photography just takes persistence and great gear... once you've got gear that can handle both the low light and the bright lights then you can get some amazing shots.

Oh, dude. I have so much to say about this I might just write my own post about being a photo fail! lol
I didn't know you were shooting pro at one point! Nice work! You should totally be shooting if you love it! Just shoot for the heck of it! Too bad we can't sit down and chat about it over beers. @mstafford and I will have to make our way down there when we get out adventure van.
The bottom line for me was that working as a pro photog was killing my desire to take pictures... my clients, and the industry in general, made me crazy. I refused to pick up my camera and turn it on unless I knew $$ was coming for it. As a result, I have zero skills in other genres such as landscape, wildlife, macro, etc. So now that I've freed myself from being pro, I'm looking forward to learning more about those!
Priorities, man! I've made myself... my 'creative sanity,' if you will, the priority. Not the $$$.
Anyway, keep shooting! Cheers!

Adventure van!!!
Well, you and the boy will always have a free place to stay when you make it down... we've got a guest room, 5 acres and no neighbors.

I got okay at studio photography, but was always just terrible at any other types, but I'm really excited to try and get a handle on landscape... I've never had so many volcanoes to play with. I'm so glad you understand where I'm at... I'll never get to that level again but, I'll also never have that pressure either, and that's really exciting!

Well made post! I think we all know how rough it is to try and make it in the game of photography. I moved to LA to make it as a pro. I think its the best education you can get...

Whoa! Thanks man!
Did you really? That's epic. How did you go? I imagine there'd be so much more potential for work and so many projects, but also so much incredible competition... LA is surely one of the most creative places in the world. I can't imagine being in that kind of incredible environment.

@aussieninja is this your story or some one else. pics are so amazing it is showing it's your story but your passion towards ninja tell other story. any way nice post. you discussed the good reason why business fails. i like it. keep sharing:)

Hi @kamchore!

This is my story!
This is what I was doing before I moved to America to pursue American Ninja Warrior... I used to spend every weekend on it.

I'm very glad you like it, thanks so much for your comment and your continuing support.

nice one so life teach you a lot of lesson. Thanks for sharing your view all the best to you for American ninja warrior. Btw you have great photographic skill bro:)

Your first out of the park article.. Great job...")

Thanks man... lucky I've got such great Steemit besties to learn from!

Nah, I'm learning as you just get more interesting each day.. :)

DANG ADAM! This post has it all, I love the story behind you getting SO into your hobby of photography. Looks like I need to talk to you some more about what to start with for "studio" type lighting. Gives me hope, since you said you set it up around the filing cabinets. Would love to see more of your work OK?? and I hope that you do get back into it - those are some amazing shots, haha I might need some pointers to experiment with on studio lighting!

This post doesn't even have Lego gifs... but I wanted to keep it all me.

You definitely should get a softbox... and for you, I'd definitely look at one that has a flash for your photography, but also a continuous mode for your videos. Your videos are always lit so well anyway, but this would give you options. Honestly, try and get the biggest softbox you can afford and have space for... the more surface area on the softbox then nicer it looks on the model. First thing to try... put it left to your camera and point it 45 degrees down to the model... and then adjust as you like. Exciting! Dammit, now I want to set up a studio... it's happening again...

hahah I hope you do set it up! and blog about it :D okkkkk are you on chat Ill prob have to reach to you for more info!

I ammmmmm! I messaged you on chat so if you see any Aussie randoms don't delete them straight away.

I am actually thinking of cheaper ways I can do some studio-esque stuff. If I ever get it happening I'll definitely blog about it.

Maybe... I'll even be able to take as lovely photos as you do already.

see you on chat later then!! :D Yeah sorry I was on for just a bit last night, that is definitely what I want to see if I can do!!! cheaper home studio corner lol

Thanks for sharing with us your story! From the pictures I saw, I encourage you to take up photography again! You already know where you did wrong, so you will not make the same mistakes! I support you! You can do it @aussieninja!

Alexandra! My friend! Thank you so much for your support! I think I will take it up again, Steem is such an incredibly inspiring and supportive platform, how can I not? Thank you so much my friend, much love!

Wow! I am really excited to see your photography! This is an awesome aspect that I just didn't expect from a ninja warrior! ;) I follow so many photographer's on steemit and many make a lot of money here, I think you will do amazingly well here, even if you don't go ahead with the whole studio shoot thing again. I am a complete noob when it comes to photography, I don't even have a DSLR lol but I love learning about it and being inspired by 'real' photographer's, so I can't wait to see what you post! :D

Thank you so much young lady!
I do like to keep surprising everyone.... I hope I've got some more tricks up my sleeve.
I don't think I'm anywhere in the league with most photographers on this platform but it is fun.
DSLRs are actually really hard to get right, so I probably wouldn't recommend unless you love reading instruction manuals... but auto cameras are so great now.

Thank you for your continued support, it is so great! Thank you so much!

Very interesting article. I am half pro photographer (not my main activity) and in some point I can recognize myself. The only advantage I seems to have is that as it’s not my main activity, but only a paid-side-hobby-something, I can really deeply choose my client. And also, as they come to me, they know what do they can expect, the way I’m working and the stuff that I have. They are kinda integrated in the process of creation, i do my best to realize their projects, but I also do not hesitate to say if something is above my skills due to a limited budget and gear. I still hope that you didn’t loose the fire of the passion, and that you shoot for yourself now, because your work is really impressive, and it would be to bad to not use this talent !

Thanks man! Your profile pic is awesome by the way.
I don't think I'll ever get into studio photography in the same way... but I really do think I'll give the local market a shot, and only take on clients that I'm excited about. Thanks for coming along and commenting, I really super appreciate it. Thanks so much!

This is the problem with artistical activities I guess... It required a real personal investment, from the mind, the heart, and the wallet ! If you give a shot to local market, could you post some result here ? I’d be happy to see the result ! Greetings! (And thanks for the remark :D)

Exactly right!
I don't think I'll ever make as big an investment into studio photography that I did before, but that doesn't mean I won't try and make smaller investments of mind, heart and wallet for hopefully a great payoff.

I will, I promise... if I take more photos I'll post them on Steemit. Everyone has been so very supportive!

Awesome post, dude! Here I was thinking you were just a cheeky Aussie who likes a bit of crypto entrepreneurship and obstacle courses, but it turns out that you also have quite the creative and artistic side as well.

I definitely understand the thought on the age separation between yourself and the models trying to break into the business -- it's definitely tougher when you can't grow and evolve with the same core group of people.

Is interesting how big a part of what we think we enjoy about our hobbies and professions could actually be attributed to the social aspect of who we're getting to enjoy the journey with.
Very nice photos as well, I have to say. You definitely have a nice eye for detail and composition!
The good thing about being creative me artistic, is that you can always get back into it, and sometimes, it even just kind of bubbles up whether you want it to or not.

Thanks man! Hahaha, I mean, you weren't too far off the mark, I did have a creative side... but now life is all about pull ups and stuff.... but this platform man... it's bringing it all back!

It's such a shame modelling has such a short shelf-life. I don't know a single model that's still at it, it's a pretty rough line of work. I didn't really make many photographer friends, it's weird, we all have so much in common, but no real reason to chat. So while I was always excited to meet new peoples and create some photographic magic... there probably wasn't many people who even noticed I got out of town.

wooow O.o what a awsome collection you have !!! stunning work 💖💖💖

Thank you so much Dragon of the Swedes! I really appreciate it!

I think you're a talented photographer. This platform may be an opportunity for you. Good luck.

Thanks so much @atakan57!
I'm really, really, really into the Steem blockchain platform, I'm actually really excited about all the content I can create for you all. Thank you so much for your comment, I really appreciate it!

you're welcome. I will support you and I following you.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 21:28:01
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.35/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wooow the best post and beatiful, please help me follow and voute

you are so pretty

Thanks, I work out.

loollllll

Great photos well done resteemed it

Thanks so much Nick, that's amazingly generous of you... thank you so much!