Sunwapta Falls

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)

Winter is coming fast! Marmot ski resort up in Jasper hopes to open this Friday and we have had quite a bit of snow at our house this past week. The first snowfalls of the year always seem the most beautiful; like your brain has forgotten how transformative it is.

I have had a break from editing for a couple of weeks to try and recharge a little. I now have a whole summer backlog of editing to work though (Mt Assiniboine, Lake O’Hara, Maligne Lake, Tonquin Valley, Peyto Lake, Bow Lake, Moraine Lake , Castle Mountain, Icefileds Parkway, Bella Coola Valley, Nisga'a Nation, Wells Gray, West Kootenays, amongst other trips). Here is one from a few weeks ago of a cloudy sunrise at Sunwapta falls after the first snow of the season. It sits on the Athabasca River that is fed by the Athabasca Glacier. Sunwapta is said to mean "turbulent water" in the Stoney language and is in Jasper National Park, Albeta, Canada.

It is important to make sure you have some crampons or snowshoes or when trying to a shot like this in the winter. We almost saw someone slide into the canyon while scrambling/slipping down the ice in some running shoes.

SunwaptaFallsSnow.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Love the appearance of water from long exposure photography.

It's hard to tell how high the falls are from this perspective.

The falls drop 18.5 metres (61 feet).

I love the way the river goes around the island and then into one waterfall!

Yes it is an iconic spot.

I really like your landscape picture very much. The soft water due to the long exposure and especially your excellent picture design. The group of trees in the center, the snow in the surroundings and the almost dramatic sky make the picture perfect!

Congratulations on this fantastic shot!

Many greetings from @faltermann 100_Freistellung.png

Winter is always beatiful in the moutains. IMG_0272.JPG

Cool photo...(snickering noise) I couldn't help my self. No seriously I would never believe that you took that picture. Way too nice. Great shot.

Nice one man!

The photo which will satisfied hundreds of soul. My feelings are in love with this composition. Many thanks to share this peace of art with us. Looking forward to see your unedited back log.

Posted using Partiko Android

OH my goodness! I've been there but I sure didn't come away with a photo like this! resteemed with pleasure :)

Thanks. It is a beautiful spot although can be crowded at times.

It looks like there are many photos and stories waiting for us :) This is a beautiful shot! What kind of camera are you using? I want to upgrade mine but can't really decide which one.

I'm so looking forward to taking photos of winter wonderland this year. I haven't taken any photos in winter yet :) So exciting! I might take the first ones this weekend as we go to the mountains and I've heard there is enough snow there already :)

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day!

Thanks. I currently use a Canon EOS 6D mkII but the shots on my page are from a range of cameras (6D, 50D, 450D and some film cameras)

Would it be possible for you to add technical specifications of your photos going forward? This way, we would be able to learn from you :)

I have at some stages in the past but I am not sure if people are really that interested. I can try it again. In the mean time if you go to my website and look at any of the photos and then click on the little (i) at the bottom right you can see the photos specifications .

Thank you! That should be enough for me :)

Any questions about it just ask me.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=intrepidphotos
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sunwapta-falls


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

"Mt Assiniboine, Lake O’Hara, Maligne Lake, Tonquin Valley, Peyto Lake, Bow Lake, Moraine Lake , Castle Mountain, Icefileds Parkway, Bella Coola Valley, Nisga'a Nation, Wells Gray, West Kootenays"

I'd take this summer itinerary. :)

It was a busy summer !

I can only imagine how cold it would be to slide down to this water. Cool artsy image!

Yes people die here and at nearby Athabasca falls quite regularly trying to get the "instagram" shot.

Oh Robert! This is the most stunning scenery! I can feel the chill in my fingers and toes just looking at that snow! There is s certain pinky blueness that really conveys the coldness so beautifully.
Between living in Southern Spain and Costa Rica it’s been many years since I have experienced snow first hand but have glorious distant memories of Canada in February and minus 29degrees ! RESTEEMED

Thanks. I would love to spend some time in Costa Rica

I like pairing the long exposure with the snow. Cool effect, like the water is flowing/liquid snow

Thanks. It does even out the dynamic range a little with everything being so white

Fantastic work !!!

absolute magic!

Winter is Coming :giggle:

Posted using Steeve

I love your work!

A beautiful photo! And I am so glad you were not a witness to a horrible accident!

Good thing that person didn't end up in the canyon that day D: Did they wear snowshoes next time? XD

That looks really awesome. And way too cold!

Not sure; they were a foreign tourist and did not speak English so it was hard to warn them.

Beautiful shot! That's one i'd love to visit on a summer night, to do a little light painting :-) What a cool area, too. Is that an island above the falls?

Yes it is an island in the river.

Hi @intrepidphotos!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.614 which ranks you at #1679 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 125 places in the last three days (old rank 1804).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Extraordinary. You were the right person, in the right place, at the right time for this one, my friend! 👍👍

ES GENIAL esta foto!

beautiful fall.I really like it. I really want to go.

You should if you get the chance.

Congratulations @intrepidphotos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

STOP

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

The whole Jasper Natural Park is so beautiful... i could visit some of the places that you name and I was absolutely astonished. I wish I could be back. Congratulatios for your incredible shot. It´s the nature's perfection.

Lovin' the composition man. I can't wait to take my split and give it a few laps around here. Would have been cool if you were nearby and tackle a few peaks with me :)

Let me know when you do !

Congratulations @intrepidphotos!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 9 with $ 273,01

Source
Spam is discouraged by the community, including comment spam.

More Information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Please no spam links

Wish someone had shown me this when I was in Jasper!!

When were you there?

Long time ago now i was only 13. You?

I live about 3 hours from Jasper so I get up about once a month.

Lucky guy sounds awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes we have been here for 2 years now in Northern BC

Awesome what you do?

Posted using Partiko Android

Breathtaking!!

Charlie's bowl here we come!!!

#jasper

Seems they have pushed the open by a week .

Ahhhh.... winter is coming!

Indeed it is.

Adorable Clicks Buddy :)

Wow Robert, that is breathtakingly beautiful. I have always wanted to travel to Alberta from Nova Scotia and this photo adds to inspiration of why! Will now be following you for more!

Thanks. I would love to make it over east one day.

Excellent motion blur on the water, smooth as milk. What ND are you using?

There is no ND used here . It is just predawn and I had a polerizer on.

love your work, such a peacefull place this seems

Thanks. I love it up there in the rockies as winter approaches.

I really need to make it up myself sometime

This is great but am i the only one who thinks he's really hot? lol im developing obsession. anyway great work as always. so cool...

Amazing photo sir, I like the way the river has cut out that little island too!

Thanks. It is a unique spot.

That’s a amazing caption! Beautiful

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you ; glad you took the time to read it.

Wowwww that's an amazing photo by the way @intrepidphotos Ur such an inspiration to me
If u have time once check my profile
Yours,
@jojivenna03

But I put the accounts up for sale, so I'll quit this job
First Account: @slimanepro
The second account: @starupvote
You can suggest a price
I will be grateful to you for the best price
I wish you luck and success
Thank you for your kind attention
You can view your price in replies

Source
When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

This comment is nothing more than spam. Looking at your comment history you have posted the same comment over and over.

Spam.gif

Thank @fireawaymarmot for this great gif!