Winter Peace

in #photofeed6 years ago

SmithersWinterX.jpg

There is a sense of peace and quiet in winter that you don’t seem to get in any of the other seasons. Fresh snow dampens sound in a way that has to be experienced before you really understand it. The sense of quiet comes from the high porosity of loosely packed crystals of freshly fallen snow which trap sound waves. It looks like summer has arrived here with temps here in the low 30’s C (90F) for this week. One of the problems with having such dramatic seasons is you can tell how far behind I am with my photo editing! The shot was taken on Hudson Bay Mountain just outside of Smithers in Northern British Columbia, Canada.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Great! Like always.

A hard photo to take with white/grey but you succeeded as it looks surreal.

Thanks. It changes the way you take photos living though such a black and white winter. You think in terms of contrast rather than colour.

I love the snow, in the photos it transmits so much tranquility. good catch <3

Love this Bobby! Great shot. Resteemed.

Thanks guys !

Such an unforgiving looking environment... beautiful at the same time though. Great photo Robert!

You just took the words right out of my mouth! :) Winter is one of the most precious seasons, the tranquility and quietness are so soothing.

You succeeded well in bringing this atmosphere in your photograph! I think every photographer ever struggles with being far behind in editing. As long as the final images are worth it, it's better to take some more time in editing than rushing through everything. :) (I definitely think this image is worth it!)

Love to see more of you!

Thanks. Appreciate your kind support.

beautiful ♥♥♥

really good article, i like to snow very much in winter always so good to rest

This almost looks as if it was taken on a set with how nicely it blends into the background, it is so soft in feel not in focus, and brings comfort like a bed of pillows. Beautiful!

Thanks. I appreciate the thoughtful comment.

Very good photo !!! I Like this !!!

The shot is absolutely surreal. I’ve got a long way to go! Ahaha

I can feel a lot of peace in this golden photo. I congratulate you because you know how to convey feelings!!

I grew up in Colorado. There's nothing as serene as going outside after a fresh snow and listening to the silence. The picture makes me homesick!

It is such a beautiful feeling.

Wow my favourite kind of photo!!! So much snow, I love it!

Yes I also love the snow when it has built up like this.

Absolutely stunning image mate

This is a simple philosophy of life. Life is a pleasant; we have to invest our time in such a way; from which we can harvest for the rest of life. A good health, a healthy mind, a charming personality, a good and soft language to communicate, to read, to write, to understand, a social being , a hard working spirit, etc.

Ah, awesome. A welcome visual reprieve with all this heat we're having in BC this week! Although admittedly here in Victoria the weather is fairly perfect, not too hot, not too cold. It doesn't last long though of course haha!
I just love this image. I can hear the silence, if that makes sense! I don't think it's a monochrome image (?) but it almost looks like it simply beacuse of the abundance of white magical snow. Love it!. Cheers!

I am enjoying this heat wave. Actually making me a little homesick particularly the electrical storm last night.

This reminds me of the last Calvin and Hobbes cartoon that Bill Watterson ever did. Bravo!