You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I sold on Foundation

in #photofeed3 years ago

Even if you can only see one star (not the sun) you can practice. You might be surprised what will show up in a photo when your eye can't see the stars.
You're in the Northern Hemisphere so face north, set the camera to take continuous shots without you pressing the shutter. Standard exposure settings are F2.8 30sec ISO1600 with a wide lens (take a test shot to check exposure)
shoot for an hour (about 120 shots)
Stack in photoshop as layers and change all the blend modes to "lighten"

That's the basics. Skill comes from trial and error

Sort:  

That's a fair point - I have never tried, and so I don't know what my camera can capture from the sky in London.

Sadly the only lenses I own that have apertures as wide as you suggest are my 50mm prime lens and my 120mm macro....

The number of lenses a photographer should own is always N+1 right? 😆