You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Avoiding Banality

in #photofeed6 years ago

I really agree that you should write something - it's not instagram! But I can also appreciate that's difficult for photographers who express themselves through art, not words - it must be really frustrating. However, I don't think it can hurt to write a few lines just saying what the photo was about, how they (god forbid) feel about it, and so on. It's just a nicer experience and will likely land them more upvotes anyway, surely? Unless they are relying solely on bid bots and don't care about community interaction at all, which is kinda sad.

Saying that, I also like a series of photos that tell a story, which is better than just one too. And sometimes it's refreshing - reading gets pretty labourious too!

Sort:  

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts on this @riverflows! I appreciate it :)

Well, I am also more likely to upvote authors who put the effort into writing something. It doesn't even have to be a description of the photo - just some context as @interpidphotos wrote in his comment. And just as you say - I sometimes think that those who don't write anything don't care much about the community.

By the way, compared to other traditional social media sites and apps, Steemit is a quite laborious platform, at least at present, because most of us are both authors and readers. So, one should probably take that as well into consideration when posting :) You have to strike a good balance between not saying enough and saying too much in your posts.

Exactly. It takes A huge amount of work. If I posted longform all the time I would die of exhaustion and who has time to read so much all the time? Check my post on Dad and the Customline. Only a 10 minute one. Phew. But others can take 1 to 3 hours. Yet it was nice.. this morning I awake to a couple of interactions. X